Open Education Librarian
Christina Riehman-Murphy
she, her, hers
Contact:
Penn State Abington
215-881-7911
Subjects: Campus: Abington, Nursing
Searching for Secondary Sources
Start with these databases if you are looking for articles written by other scholars in the field who are writing about Shakespeare and other early modern authors. Consider starting your search with the title of your primary source and one keyword of a theme/topic that you are analyzing. For example, you might search: "Much Ado About Nothing" AND feminism.
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare by ISBN: 9781280998874Publication Date: 2011-01-01Situated within the Oxford Handbooks to Literature series, the group of Oxford Handbooks to Shakespeare are designed to record past and present investigations and renewed and revised judgments by both familiar and younger Shakespearean specialists.
- Shakespeare Quarterly (Journal)Shakespeare Quarterly (SQ) is a leading journal in Shakespeare studies, publishing highly original, rigorously researched essays, notes, and book reviews. Published for the Folger Shakespeare Library by Oxford University Press, SQ is peer-reviewed and extremely selective.
- Cambridge Collections Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Collections Online - covering the subjects of literature, philosophy, religion, culture and the classics (Greece and Rome), Cambridge Collections Online consists of over 2,000 essays that can be searched by title, author, keyword, subject, etc. in the Advanced Search mode. Individual books and chapters within the Collection can also be browsed.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new windowA database of scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1972 and the present. Includes books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions,audiovisual materials, electronic media.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography contains more than 1.7 million records for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Literature Online Core (LION Core) (legacy) This link opens in a new windowWith over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism.