More than 270 African American newspapers from 35 states. There are significant gaps and only a handful of papers from the civil rights era.
Beginning with the Freedom's Journal (NY)--the first African American newspaper published in the United States--this database includes page reproductions of African American newspapers from every region of the United States.
More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, organizational newsletters, and other genres. Includes many Rare and short-lived titles.
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, organizational newsletters, and other genres. Includes many Rare and short-lived titles.
Content from six historical African-American newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Chicago Defender (1910-1975); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Norfolk Journal Guide (1916-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Twelve historical black newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010); Chicago Defender (1910-2010); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-2010); Kansas City Call, (1919-2010); Louisville Defender, (1951-2010); Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010); New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010); Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010); and Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
Most content in Spanish with limited English content.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.
Includes a digitized image of issues of The Chicago Tribune from 1849-2011: news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.
Penn State's student newspaper (focus on University Park)
The Daily Collegian and its predecessors, serve as an important source for documenting student life at the Pennsylvania State University. Newspapers, and specifically, student-run newspapers, such as the Daily Collegian, often document university life better than any other source--through their pictures, their editorials, and their reports on student activities and interests. The Daily Collegian as we know it today was preceded by: • Free Lance (monthly) -- April 1887 to April 1904 • State Collegian (weekly) -- September 28, 1904 to June 10, 1911 • Penn State Collegian (weekly) -- September 28, 1911 to August 2, 1940 (also had Summer Collegian issues for some dates during this time period). The Historical Digital Collegian provides access to all words, photographs, and advertisements as well as an exact page image of the newspaper page containing the article. For those readers who prefer to see the newspaper intact, each issue can be browsed page-by-page. Thus, the Historical Digital Collegian allows researchers greater flexibility in locating articles of interest and in allowing greater access for those researchers not able to visit The University Libraries.
Over 1,000 titles from the "alternative" press of the 60s, 70s and early 80s. Includes the voices and perspectives of feminists, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTs and more
Independent Voices is a four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries. Chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Search across a million pages of full text and browse every issue, cover-to-cover, in full color. Consolidated for the first time, over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries providing easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTs and more. All of the content is completely copyright cleared with the ultimate transition to open access in mind. Access provided under Creative Commons Non-Commercial License. Rights to the individual works that make up this collection remain with the original copyrights holder.
Includes a digitized image of every backfile issue of The New York Times from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.
Coverage of global business, economics, consumer affairs, trends and issues.
Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, consumer affairs, and trends and issues. Online researchers have access to more than 100 years of The Journal's accurate reporting, exclusive analysis, agenda setting editorials, and controversial opinions. In addition to the printed stories, researchers also can study the charts, stock tables, graphics, and illustrations featured in the publication. With this resource, users can study the development of industries and companies across decades, monitor the implementation and effects of fiscal policies on the global economy, study opposing viewpoints at critical times in the world's history, and more. This title is especially appealing to those interested in business, finance, economics, and journalism.
UP Copy: Call # Z1361.N39I601, Arts & Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee. Use to find articles published since 1950. Also published under various titles: Index to Selected Periodicals, Index to Periodical Articles By and About Negroes, and Index to Periodical Articles By and About Blacks
An important tool to search for general interest periodicals published in the United States.
The online version of the original Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature offers subject access to over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines. Use Readers Guides Retrospective to find contemporary magazine accounts documenting events in politics, fashion, media, film, television, health and medicine, literature, popular culture, religion and science.