Primary sources from first contact through the civil righs movement of the twentieth century including: manuscripts, artwork, photographs, maps, books and newspapers.
American Indian Histories and Cultures is a digital collection providing insight into American Indians and European/American relations from first contact through the civil rights movement of the twentieth century. Users can explore primary source materials including: manuscripts, artwork, photographs, interactive maps, printed materials and newspapers. Taken from the collections at the Newberry Library in Chicago.
Gathered from major LGBTQ archives, this collection includes records of organizations and individuals as well as published newsletters, newspapers, and magazines.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research. The collection consists of LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I; LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; L'Enfer de la Bibliothèque nationale de France; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.
Collections of primary source materials. Collections relevant to the 1960s include:
Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford)
Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activitist, Political Activist, and Woman
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño
Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis
Particular strengths in the Archive Unbound catalog include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.
Millions of records from civil rights organizations including the NAACP, Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Revolutionary Action Movement, and the Women's Rights Movement as well as government reports documenting the quest for equality and records on the Vietnam War.
Primary source documents including records from civil rights activists and organizations (Southern Christian Leadership Council, NAACP, Revolutionary Action Movement). Other collections include; Law and Society Since the Civil War; Slavery and the Law (petitions to southern legislatures and courts and slavery statutes); Southern Life and African-American History, 1775-1915 (diaries, account books and other records of daily life); The Struggle for Women's Rights, 1880-1990 (records of the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance); Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from The Schlesinger Library; The Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975, and Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, 1880-1930.
A multimedia collection of films, interviews, memoirs, letters, speeches, and other works exploring the evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people in the twentieth century.
LGBT Studies provides students and researchers across disciplines a multi-content perspective on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. It provides key resources of interest to students and researchers in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
Substantial collection of pamphlets, letters, Underground magazines, photographs, posters, video and other materials depicting the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s
Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. There was the onset of Rock & Roll; the introduction of computers and credit cards; the boom of radio and television; and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority. By focusing on substantial collections of original archival material – manuscript, typescript and ephemera – from key libraries in Britain and America – Adam Matthew provides the primary sources that will enable students and scholars to examine these issues in detail and at first hand: Changing Lifestyles, 1950-1975 Youth Culture Student Protests Mai ‘68 Popular Culture; TV; Music; Movies Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups The Space Race Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers Vietnam War Nuclear Disarmament.
In-depth surveys and other reports covering school desegregation, church integration, employment practices, housing and recreation. The collection also contains a number of transcripts of speeches and over 100 hours of audio recordings of speeches
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
Contains personal accounts of the period through diaries, letters, autobiographies, memoirs, oral histories, etc... Covers civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, new left, student activism, Vietnam War, women's movement, etc.
Chronicles American history, culture and politics through letters, diaries, memoirs, oral histories; posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, newsreel footage and other materials from the sixties and early seventies. Topics include the civil rights movement, the Vietnam War, the Equal Rights Amendment, Earth Day, the Free Speech Movement, the Stonewall riots, Woodstock, the Summer of Love, the Space Race and more.