Library Guides: BIOL 120N: Plants, Places and People: Where to Look for Sources

Where to Look for Sources

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Use the "Browse Cultures" tab to explore a wide variety of cultures that can be used for your project.
The Human Relations Area Files are designed to facilitate the cross-cultural study of human society, culture, and behavior. Two HRAF databases are available: Ethnography Collection and Archaeology Collection. They provide full-text access to source material on a wide variety of cultures around the world, as well as a cultural summary and bibliography for each culture covered.

Nature Publishing Group (NPG)
Includes "Nature," another of the top journals in science. Multidisciplinary. Also links to other NPG journals, including some we do not subscribe to.
New Yorker Magazine
PSU Access to NYT and WSJ
An alternative way of accessing both the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, using your PSU login credentials.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures by Melvin Ember; Carol R. Ember; Ian A. Skoggard; Human Relations Area Files, Inc Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780028656717
Publication Date: 2002-04-25
This 10-volume set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture. Its cross-cultural perspective meets high school curricular requirements for world studies and social sciences. The single volume Supplement covers 65 cultures not included in the original set and provides updates to cultures that have changed significantly during the past 10 to 15 years.

Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Clicking through this link will allow you to access Science Magazine articles (through the Penn State subscription).

Ethnobotany, Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
General reference definition from a food and culture perspective. Includes a list of important spices derived from plants.
Ethnobotany, Environmental Encyclopedia
Includes names of early scientists who studied ethnobotany and a historical perspective of the field.
Ethnobotany, Plant Sciences
Includes other terms or sub-disciplines that fall under this area of study as well as a brief history of the field and a brief section on the methods of ethnobotany.
Ethnobotany, The Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Includes sections on ethics and conservation in ethnobotany.

Botanical Collections
Collaboration between the Searle Herbarium of the Field Museum of Natural History (FMNH) and the Department of Anthropology at Northeastern Illinois University (NEIU).
BRIT Native American Ethnobotany Database
A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants.
Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases
In-depth plant, chemical, bioactivity, and ethnobotany searches using scientific or common names. Search results can be downloaded in PDF or spreadsheet form. Of interest to pharmaceutical, nutritional, and biomedical research, as well alternative therapies and herbal products.