Thorough overview of the complexities and implications regarding the scientific and practical pursuit of children's well-being.

Presents interdisciplinary thinking and critical perspectives on childhood and youth, to address the emerging consensus that boundaries between childhood, youth and adulthood are blurred.

Introduces perspectives on young people across the globe, focusing on such topics as parenting and childcare, gender roles, violence against girls, adolescence in poor and rich countries, and developmental psychopathology across cultures.

Provides a broad body of knowledge regarding the traits and patterns found to characterize resilient individuals and well-functioning families, including those with diverse structures, various ethnic backgrounds and a variety of non-traditional forms.

Describes, analyzes, synthesizes, and critiques the current research and theory about family relationships, family structural variations, and the role of families in society. This updated Handbook provides the most comprehensive state-of-the art assessment of the existing knowledge of family life, with particular attention to variations due to gender, socioeconomic, race, ethnic, cultural, and life-style diversity.

Provides a timely and thorough reference for educators, students, scholars and activists seeking to better understand the global issue of domestic abuse. The entries document the history of the domestic violence prevention movement, provide explanations for abuse, identify warning signs of hidden abuse, describe types of victims and offenders, and supply information on interventions and prevention programs.

Examines theory, research and policy as they relate to family practice in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free. From 'Adolescent Suicide' and 'Alternative Therapies' to 'Visitation during Hospitalization' and 'Weight Problems and Genetics', this work provides coverage of a variety of issues within a family context.

Devoted to the understanding of the nature of environments in child development. Utilizing Urie Bronfenbrenner's idea of embedded environments, this volume looks at environments from the immediate environment of the family (including fathers, siblings, grandparents and day-care personnel) to the larger environment including schools, neighborhoods, geographic regions, countries and cultures.

Comprehensive in breath, the text serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new knowledge.

Offers an exhaustive and comprehensive review of current theory and research findings pertaining to this critical decade of life. Leading scientists offer accessible and easily readable reviews of biological, social, educational, occupational, and cultural factors that shape adolescent development.

Part 1 reviews developments in the field of age and the life course (ALC) studies. Part 2 covers the demographic aspects of aging; longevity trends; disability and aging; and stratification and inequality research. Part 3 includes chapters that examine socioeconomic position and racial/ethnic disparities in health at older age. Part 4 deals with pension reform in Europe; the political activities of older Americans; the future of retirement security; and gender differences in old age.

Up-to-date theory, findings, and guidelines on the core aspects of child custody evaluations. Contributors offer steps for gathering more accurate family data through home observations, interviews, and collateral information.

Comprehensive, up-to-date examination of this diverse and maturing field. Integrative state-of-the-art models document the complex interplay of risk and protective factors and other variables contributing to normal and pathological development.

The first methods handbook specifically designed to meet the needs of those studying development.

Covers the multifaceted challenges of aging and family dynamics.

Comprehensively reviews theory and research on the self.

Examines children as family members, friends, learners, consumers, people of faith, and participants in law and politics. The contributors also discuss the methodological and ethical requirements for research that occurs in natural settings and that enables children themselves to describe their perspective.

Covers conceptual and methodological issues in research and to relevant fields of practice and policy.

Explores the vital role of the family as the fundamental social unit across the span of American history. Key themes include families and culture (including mass media), families and religion, families and the economy, families and social issues, families and social stratification and conflict, family structures (including marriage and divorce, gender roles, parenting and children, and mixed and non-modal family forms), and family law and policy.