Databases and Search Engines
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of books an working papers from universities, research institutes, and think tanks. Focuses on international affairs. Limited journal content.
- Intergovernmental Organization Search EngineAllows you to cross search most of the major international intergovernmental organzations such as the World Bank, United Nations, IMF, World Health Organization and many more [Google custom search]
- Nongovernmental Organizations Search EngineA specialized Google search engine designed to search across NGO organizations. [GODORT]
U.S. Government materials
- Homeland Security -- Core DocumentsThe Libraries' Homeland Security Subject Guide has an extensive list of core U.S. documents related to terrorism and homeland security.
- Country Reports on TerrorismPublished annually by the Dept. of State. Tracks trends and terrorist incidents by country. Formerly "Patterns of Global Terrorism"
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents from the DoD, DoS, and other government agencies, many of which were secured through Freedom of Information Act requests. Includes collections on Iran, Iraq, and terrorism policy
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new windowOver 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Given the length of time needed before materials are declassified, this database is suited primarily for historical research.
- 9/11 Commission (National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States)Includes the report and hearings.
- List of Foreign Terrorist OrganizationsOrganizations listed by the Dept. of State
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryA broad range of documents related to terrorism. Search across all collections or focus in on a single type of document e.g. Presidential Directives.
- Statement for the Record Worldwide Threat Assessment of the U.S. Intelligence CommunityFrom the Office of the Director of National Intelligence.
Congressional Materials
- Congressional This link opens in a new windowSearch for hearings, explore the Congressional Record to learn how the Congress is responding to terrorist threats.
Domestic Terrorism
What is domestic terrorism?
Because domestic terrorism is distinctly different from international terrorism, a few key reports and resources are listed separately here.
- As defined in the U.S. CodeDefines both international and domestic terrorism
Congressional Research Service Reports
CRS Reports are concise reports written for the use of members of Congress.
Dept of Justice Documents
- Rightwing Extremism: Current Economic and Political Climate Fueling Resurgence in Radicalization and RecruitmentPublished in 2009 this report precipitated a firestorm of criticism.
Think Tanks
- Southern Poverty Law CenterThe SPLC is one of the most prominent groups tracking extremism within the United States.
International Materials
- International Legal InstrumentsFrom the UN Counter Terrorism Committee a list of the major UN treaties and resolutions guiding their work
- EU Terrorism Situation and Trend ReportFrom Europol
- United Nations Office of Counter-TerrorismPortal to the work the UN does to fight terrorism.