Library Guides: Terrorism: Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Emily Reed

she/her

Contact:

Penn State Harrisburg Library, 306A
351 Olmsted Drive
Middletown, PA 17057

717-948-6373

Subjects: Campus: Harrisburg, Homeland Security, Public Administration

Encyclopedias

Begin with an encyclopedia article to get a broad overview of your topic.

Encyclopedia of Terrorism by Peter Chalk
ISBN: 0313385351
Publication Date: 2012
A tool for understanding the latest developments in national and international terrorism
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism by C. (Clarence) Augustus (Gus) Martin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412980173
Publication Date: 2011

Handbooks and Annual Reviews

Use a subject handbook or an article in an annual review to begin your literature search. These articles summarize current research on your topic and provide a wealth of citations to more literature to explore.

Oxford Handbooks

These handbooks provide indepth scholarly essays on a wide range of topics related to terrorism. Three especially useful tiltes are listed below but you can search across all the handbooks. Please note: we do not have access to all titles. The open or closed lock indicates which titles have been purchased.

Oxford Handbook on the History of Terrorism
Covers the history of terrorism from ancient Greece to the 21st Century
Oxford Handbook on Religion and Violence
Explore the intersection of violence and religion across faith traditions
Oxford Handbook on International Law in Armed Conflict
Of particular interest is the section on Key Issues in Times of Armed Conflict which has essays specifically on terrorism and on unlawful combatants.

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Reviews most important research each year by field. Of particular interest to terrorism topics are the Annual Review of Political Science and Annual Review of Law. To search these individually use the drop down menu to choose the appropriate "journal".
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Research Methods Handbooks

Looking for help designing your quantitative or qualitative research project? Try this database/

SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window
Explore methods concepts to help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method to conduct research.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. SAGE Research Methods contains content from more than 640 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire Little Green Book, and Little Blue Book series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and newly commissioned videos. Our access is to: SRM Core Update 2020-2025; SRM Cases (includes updates through 2025); SRM Cases 2.