Key Databases
- Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary engineering journal articles and conference papers from 1884-Present.
- ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text access to the American Society of Mechanical Engineer’s online journals, conference papers, and standards.
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to all current ASTM (American Society of Testing Materials) and AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials) standards.
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new windowFull-text technical papers and journal articles from the Society of Automotive Engineers, including aerospace and ground vehicle standards.
- NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new windowTechnical reports covering US government research, and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFull-text of all Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers conference papers, standards, journals.
Key Search Engines
- Google PatentsSearch patents from around the world.
- ISO StandardsPenn State does not have an online database that includes all ISO standards. However, you can use the ISO web site to identify standards of interest to you, and contact your librarian to help track them down.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch academic and technical literature. This custom Google Search box shows Get It! Penn State links to full-text articles in the results.
Key PSU Guides
Technical reports describe the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research. Include in-depth experimental details, data, and results.
Technical reports are usually produced to report on a specific research need. They can serve as a report of accountability to the organization funding the research. They provides access to the information before it is published elsewhere.
Technical Reports are usually not peer-reviewed. They need to be evaluated on how the problem, research method, and results are described.
Standards are guidelines or rules for products, processes, test methods, or materials. These are created to produce a level of uniformity, interchangeability, reliability, or means of comparison.
