GIS Specialist
Tara Anthony
she/her/hers
Contact:
1A Central Pattee Library
814-863-5753
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Library Search Terms
Search terms include: Geographic information systems, Open Source Software, Computers, Information Technology, Remote Sensing/Photogrammetry, Information Systems Application
Include the name of software of interest when searching the library resources.
Getting Started: Books
- Open Source GIS: A GRASS GIS approach (book, e-book)This book provides an overview of open source software and GIS, along with specific chapters discussing working with GRASS with raster and vector data, and image processing.
- Modern spatial econometrics in practice: a guide to GeoDa, GeoDaSpace and PySAL: (book)This text provides information on the use of GeoDA with examples from econometrics.
- Handbook of applied spatial analysis: software tools, methods, and applications: (ebook)This book provides multiple chapters on using open source software for spatial statistics, including chapters on GeoDa and R
- Handbook of Open Source tools (ebook)This book includes a chapter on scientific Software with references to open source GIS (QGIS, GRASS)
- Humanities Data in R: Exploring Networks, Geospatial Data, Images, and Text (ebook)This book includes references to multiple techniques used in the digital humanities, including using R for spatial analysis
- Yang, C. (2017). Introduction to GIS programming and fundamentals with python and ArcGIS. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, Taylor & Francis Group.This text includes an introduction to python, key terminology, and examples of code to use as the reader explores Python in hands-on settings. This test includes tables with summaries of operators and functions and when to use them. From examples, tips are given as to how to revise Python scripts.
Getting Started: Journals
Journals of Interest: International Journal of Geographical Information Science, Cartographic Perspectives, Environmental Modelling and Software, Transactions in GIS