Library Guides: HIST 426: The Holocaust: Historical News Sources

News and Magazine Sources

For additional sources see the Historical News Guide.

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search multiple newspapers & publications, including the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer, Chicago Defender. A good source for a variety of reporting on the Holocaust.

Black Historical Newspapers 1893-2010 [Full Page Reproduction] This link opens in a new window
Includes six African-American newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Chicago Defender (1910-1975); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Norfolk Journal Guide (1916-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Twelve historical black newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010); Chicago Defender (1910-2010); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-2010); Kansas City Call, (1919-2010); Louisville Defender‎, (1951-2010); Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010); New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010); Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010); and Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
Gale News Vault This link opens in a new window
Primarily British news sources. 20th century paper include the Times of London and the Illustrated London News.
The Gale NewsVault allows researchers to cross-search historical newspaper collections, including the Times Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century US Newspapers, and many more. Providing access to over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault allows the most effective searching across many newspapers.
NewsFinder This link opens in a new window
Use to identify newspapers in our collection by country, city, state, format, language, or time period
The University Libraries provide access to many newspaper titles in print, electronic, and microfilm formats. Use NewsFinder to locate newspapers in any format and location within the University Libraries collections.

Jewish News Sources

Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
Archive consists of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-present).

Compact Memory
A digital collection of 118 Jewish periodicals from German-speaking countries, 1806-1938

Historical Jewish Press
Digitized collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. Includes Palestine Post (1932-1950), Davar (1925-1996), Maariv (1948- ), and many others.

HIST 426: The Holocaust

News and Magazine Sources

For additional sources see the Historical News Guide.

​​ProQuest News & Newspapers Search multiple newspapers & publications, including the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer, Chicago Defender. A good source for a variety of reporting on the Holocaust.

Jewish News Sources

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search multiple newspapers & publications, including the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer, Chicago Defender. A good source for a variety of reporting on the Holocaust.