Library Guides: ENGL 15: Rhetoric and Composition (Ousey): Find Articles in these Databases

Use these databases to find reliable sources

Before you use information in your essay, you need to decide if your information source is appropriate for a college paper: the source should be current, reliable, and relevant to your topic. Take some time to learn more about EVALUATING INFORMATION by watching some short videos created by Penn State librarians.

Use these databases to get background information on your topic, to find newspaper and magazine articles, and explore different sides of political and social issues.

Use Google Jamboard to share some topic ideas: LINK

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Collection of reports covering political and social issues
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews. CQ Global Researcher (formerly a stand alone DB) content was merged into CQ Researcher.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Current, international news and perspectives on a variety of topics and events throughout the world
Offers current, international news and perspectives on a variety of topics and events throughout the world. It brings together an array of sources to explain the historical and contemporary conditions in a wide range of subject areas, including sociology, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, and human rights. Updated daily.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Research and background information on important social issues
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 1000 reference resources
A collection of over 2000 reference resources.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
comprehensive, multi-disciplinary
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Penn State University Libraries

ENGL 15: Rhetoric and Composition (Ousey)

Ask the Vairo Librarians

Use these databases to find reliable sources