Library Guides: MKTG 330: Consumer Behavior: Company & Industry Research

NAICS & SIC Codes

"NAICS" (North American Industrial Classification System) and "SIC" (Standard Industrial Classification) are two systems for classifying business data by industry. Knowing the NAICS or SIC codes for your segment of business can make it easier to find data about it.

NAICS
Search the official database of the North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) codes, administered by the Census Bureau.
SIC
Search the official database of Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes, administered by the Occupational Safety & Health Administration.

Company Research Databases

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms through "EDGAR." Through this website you'll find links to a complete list of filings and instructions for searching.

Industry Research Databases

IBISWorld
Great for industry reports, publicly traded companies, and economic and demographic profiles.
IBISWorld provides over 700 full-text industry reports, 700 US industry risk rating reports, and information on over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of economic and demographic profiles. Subscription includes access to the US Industry State Reports module.

Other Databases

Business Source Premier
Your "go to" for scholarly articles on business and economics.
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
ProQuest (Multiple Databases)
Great for articles appearing in popular magazines, national newspapers, and scholarly journals.
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. Keywords: news, New York Times, current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, English 15, CAS 100.