Exhaustive index of bibliography on Greek and Latin languages and literatures
L'Annee Philologique is an exhaustive index of periodicals, books and essays in classics and classical studies. It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography. The database indexes over 1,500 journals from 1969 to the present.
Oxford Bibliographies in Classics provides reliable and authoritative bibliographcal guidance
The study of the ancient world is a cornerstone of Western scholarship. It possesses a long history with a rich, well-established critical literature, and it is also a highly active field, which constantly produces new discoveries, interpretations, and theories. In addition to a vast body of scholarship, Classical Studies has been quick to move online so that today’s students and researchers have ready access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources. Oxford Bibliographies in Classics provides students and scholars with a reliable and authoritative solution to the problem of information overload in all media.
The most comprehensive database for classical archaeology, dating back to 1956
DYABOLA is a specialized indexing service focusing on the ancient world. The most important file it offers is the Archaeological Bibliography (also known as Realkatalog des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts Rom) the most comprehensive database for classical archaeology, dating back to 1956. Select that file for an index to books and journal articles on the antiquities, art, and archaeology in the Mediterranean world from antiquity through the early medieval period. You might first need to check the 'with IP-Access' box and then click 'Start.' You will see a list of the databases where you must click the language flag for the databases to which Penn State subscribes. The search interface is complex. You can access DYABOLA user handbooks at: Universal DYABOLA User Manual.
An index of periodical literature covering basic research with particular strength in the humanities and the social sciences.
IBZ is an index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,000 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 1.7 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent. Coverage: 1984-present Current edition. Updates: Continuous.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
A new edition of the 856 fragmentary historians that comprise F. Jacoby's monumental Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, with significant additions.
Brill's New Jacoby (BNJ) is a new edition of the 856 fragmentary historians that comprise F. Jacoby's monumental Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, with significant additions. Each author has a Greek text (updated from that of Jacoby where relevant); facing English translation; new, critical commentary (for the first time for authors 608-856, on which Jacoby did not write commentaries); a brief encyclopaedia-style entry about his life, works, importance, etc.; and a select bibliography. BNJ also includes several new authors and many fragments of existing authors that were either unknown to Jacoby or excluded by him. Jacoby's numbering system has been retained so that readers may also consult FGrH without having to refer to a concordance.
520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface.
The digital Loeb Classical Library is an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
The largest collection of full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world.
Past Masters encompasses the largest collection of full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes important works in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, economics, classics, history, and German studies. The databases are based on excellent editions, in both original language and in English translation, using meticulous text conversion processes. Combined with powerful web-based search and reference tools, the Past Masters series provides scholars with significantly-enhanced and highly-flexible access to the classic texts of philosophy.
The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents.
The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.The online edition will provide scholars and students with easy and quick access to this vast amount of information and will allow them to search the entire corpus for particular words, names, and inscriptions. Indexes and cross references to related texts offer additional research functionality.The online edition includes the electronic equivalent of all 54 SEG volumes (approx. 50.000 records) published so far, and will incorporate all future volumes in the series.
More than 76 million words of Greek from over 6,600 works and work collections from nearly 2,000 authors.
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972, the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. The database now contains over 76 million words of text from over 6,600 works and work collections from nearly 2,000 authors.