Spills
35W bridge collapse, by .nate, under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0.
- Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of material on engineering aspects of accidents and spills.
- Chemical Safety Board InvestigationsSite has investigation summaries for major chemical accidents in the U.S. and its territories, searchable via keyword or by state or type of accident.
- Incident NewsNOAA's database of incidents at sea (primarily U.S. waters). Browsable by year back to 1985.
- TRI Explorer Release ReportsHosted by the Environmental Protection Agency, the database contains reports of toxic chemical release from 1988 to date.
- Right-to-Know Network DatabasesSearches multiple databases covering U.S. facilities, releases, spills, and accidents related to hazardous wastes.
Oil Spills
- Major Oil SpillsThe International Tanker Owners Pollution Federation maintains a database of accidental oil spills from tankers, combined carriers and barges since 1970, except those resulting from acts of war. The data includes the type of oil spilt, the spill amount, the cause and location of the incident and the vessel involved. The site also includes summaries of major oil spill events, such as the Exxon Valdez, from 1967 to date.
- Database of spill incidents and threats in waters around the worldThis site lists major events and allows filtering by year or region. Spills are categorized as oil, hazardous material or other.
- Major Oil Spill ResponsesThe International Bird Rescue's list of major incidents since 1971 (primarily U.S. locations).
Deep Water Horizon / BP Oil Spill 2010:
- Deepwater Horizon accident reportReport from the U.S. Chemical Safety Board about the BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico
- Gulf Oil SpillSmithsonian Institution site features copious pieces of information about this 2010 incident.
- Dispatches from the GulfWebsite features stories, videos, educational and many other resources about this oil spill
- Dispatches from the Gulf - part 1Film about research in the Gulf following the oil spill.
- Dispatches from the Gulf - part 3Ten years after the spill, this film looks back on what has been learned.
Accidents
- Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of material on engineering aspects of accidents.
- National Transportation Safety BoardThis site offers statistics and data on accidents in the U.S., current and historic, by transportation mode--aviation, highway, marine, rail, pipeline and hazardous materials.
- OSHA's Fatality and Catastrophe Investigation SummariesThe summaries provide a complete description of the incident, generally including events leading to the incident and causal factors. Dates are from 1984 to 1 year ago.
- List of catastrophic collapses of radio masts and towersThis list, hosted by Wikipedia, provides information by date, location, height, structural type, and reason for the collapse.
- Examples of Engineering FailuresArchived website listing various engineering failures by subject and chronologically.
- Tunnel collapsesThis compilation covers from 1964 to date.
- Mining Disasters(U.S.). These CDC lists contains links only for disasters where 5 or more fatalities occurred, 1839 to date.
- Mining Accidents in the United States, Canada, Australia & New ZealandListing of over 600,000 mining accident records.
- National Fire Data CenterThis site maintains detailed statistics on urban fires in the U.S. from 1985 to date.
- Fog and Crashes Report (AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, 2014)Summarizes 20 years statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
- eMars - European Major Accident Reporting SystemThis database contains reports of chemical accidents and near misses in EU countries. It includes a dashboard with various statistics on accident frequency and type.
- NTSB Aviation Accident DatabaseThis resource contains information from 1962 and later about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters.
- Aviation Safety Network databasesInformation on world-wide events since 1905, including powered and unpowered flight.
- International Helicopter Safety TeamThere are reports for the U.S., Canada and Europe.
Battery Fires and Accidents
- Battery Fire and Explosion Incidents databaseBattery incidents by year, worldwide.
- Lithium-ion Battery IncidentsUnderwriter Labs has a database of accidents over time.
- BESS Failure Event DatabaseBattery energy storage failure events database.
Violence, Terrorism and War
- The Terrorism Research CenterThe site contains terrorist profiles, a calendar of significant dates for terrorist activities, and links to sites containing descriptions of terrorist incidents and travel advisories.
- United Nations High Commissioner for RefugeesThis site offers various data on refugee populations from 1985 onward.
- Learning from terrorist mass casualty incidents: a global surveyData from selected locations and events from 2004 and 2019.
- Mass Shooting Database (The Violence Project)Data for U.S. from 1966 onwards by region, state, type of location where shooting occurred, etc.
- Gun Violence ArchiveData for United States only