This site provides information on the worst disasters for the U.S. and world in terms of deaths and losses caused by earthquakes, hurricanes, tornadoes, floods and fires. Also provided is a "ten worst monetary losses in the U.S." list under each category.
ReliefWeb is a project of the United Nations Department of Humanitarian Affairs. It provides information about on-going emergencies and crises worldwide; some information about past crises is also available. Information includes situation reports detailing the date, type and extent of the disaster, maps, damage estimates, requests for assistance and donations, numbers of people affected and more.
This site features reports of activities, situation reports and appeals for assistance worldwide. It also includes the annual publication World Disasters Report (see below), which analyzes humanitarian crises of the past, present and future in tables, text and figures. Data include annual and historic disasters by date and country, number of victims by country and more.
This site focuses on U.S. disasters. It provides extensive information about historic and current disaster situations, federally-declared disasters, news releases, fact sheets, and a searchable photo archive.
This is the best site for comprehensive information relating to natural disasters. Included are extensive quick response reports of both natural and man-made disasters, the full text of many of the Center's publications, lists of organizations, and extensive links to other Internet sites.
GenDisasters is focused on providing historical information related to North American accidents and disasters. It includes information on more uncommon incidents such as buggy accidents and cave-ins. It is possible to browse and search by date, location, and type of accident