Library Guides: History: Data, Facts & Terms

Data, Facts & Terms

Statistics
People and Topics - Subject Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

As you read books and articles you will probably encounter statistics. The sources below can help you locate additional statistics, everything from the population of London in 1780 to the amount of wheat grown in Nigeria.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources.
Provides a comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between. Over 80 scholars have contributed their efforts and expertise to select, assemble, and document the data, to write the introductory essays, and to analyze the material.

For earlier years, prior to WWII, we have statistical compendiums in print:

Subject encyclopedias are good places to start on your exploration of a topic. They feature brief essays on historical themes, people, places, and events. The essays are similar in scope to Wikipedia entries, but are written by authorities in the field. They will guide you to key articles and books on your topic, and supply important names, dates, and terms that can help you make informed decisions as you progress with your research.

Brill Online Reference Works This link opens in a new window
Scholarly encyclopedias in ancient history, religion and Islamic Studies. Titles include the Encyclopedia of Islam, Encyclopedia of Judaism and the New Pauly Online.
Please note that PSU does not have licensed access to all of the Brill Online Reference Works. Those which we are able to access are marked with a green icon.
Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
Essays on the American experience from precolonial times to the present.
The Encyclopedia of American Studies provides interdisciplinary coverage of the American experience, from pre-colonial days to the present. Over 660 articles cover areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of subject encyclopedias, including dozens of history titles. An excellent starting point for many historical topics.
A collection of over 2000 reference resources.
JapanKnowledge Lib This link opens in a new window
Japanese encyclopedias, dictionaries and databases. Most of the materials are in Japanese.
JapanKnowledge is a portal to Japanese encyclopedias, dictionaries and databases that provide access to various reference sources in Japan including Encyclopedia Nipponica, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, Progressive Japanese-English/English-Japanese Dictionaries, Gendai Yogo No Kiso Chishiki, Nihon Jinmei Daijiten, recent issues of the Economist Japanese edition, collection of Toyo Bunko series and other visual and sound databases. The Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan is in English, the remaining reference sources are in Japanese.
Oxford African-American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Essays by scholars with some multimedia content, primary sources, and a historical timeline.
The African American Studies Center features the three-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, published by Oxford in 2006; the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine in 2005, the highly acclaimed five volume Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience. The Center also includes content from much-anticipated forthcoming print publications including the African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes), edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr., scheduled for publication in 2008; and the Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture, due for publication 2007. In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Facts, figures, and definitions from reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

In addition to online reference databases, the library also has an extensive collection of print resources, far too many to list. If you are not finding what you need use the contact information on the left sidebar and ask for help!

Penn State University Libraries

History

Librarian

Data, Facts & Terms