Full-text Chinese e-books and reprint journals covering a variety of subject areas published since 1900.
A collection of 700,000 titles of Chinese titles published since 1900 with the majority after 1949. It includes 22 areas covering all academic disciplines. Please click the box next to “Trail to ChinaMaxx” in order to search all books in the database. Library has purchased several hundred titles and full-text access is limited to purchased titles only which can be found in the CAT. Faculty and students are welcome to make purchase recommendation. When you make recommendations, please contact the Asian Studies Librarian . 欢迎推荐，并请联系亚洲研究馆员.
A comprehensive full-text database of ancient Chinese texts
Chinese Ancient Text (CHANT) is a comprehensive full-text database of ancient Chinese texts. The database contains five components: pre-220 AD (the Pre-Han and Han period) traditional texts; 220-581 AD (the Weijin period) traditional texts; excavated texts on wood/bamboo strips and silk (Jianbo); excavated oracular inscriptions on tortoise shells and bones (Jiaguwen); traditional as well as excavated bronze inscriptions (Jinwen).
Use to find articles, reviews, and essays about women, sexuality, and gender in the Middle Ages.
The Medieval Feminist Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Librarians and scholars began compiling the index (MFI) in July 1996. Books written by a single author are not included. To locate these, search The CAT.
Lists works selected by scholars from around the world for inclusion in the Handbook.
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Covers research from all fields, particularly the humanities and the social sciences. It is international in scope, with an emphasis on scholarship from Germany and the European continent.
IBZ is an index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,000 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 1.7 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent. Coverage: 1984-present Current edition. Updates: Continuous.
Covers international scholarly and popular sources in the field of Black Studies.
IIBP Full Text draws its current content from more than 150 international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals. It covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology among others.
Use to find publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims and contains indexing for 3,470 titles with coverage dating back to 1906. Index Islamicus is produced by Brill Academic Publishers. App information
Guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and stories in journals devoted to Jewish affairs.
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988. App information
Use to find scholarly information on topics pertaining to the period 400 to 1700AD.
ITER is an interdisciplinary database for finding information on topics pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700AD). The database includes citations for books, articles, and selected reviews. Iter Italicum, contains descriptions of Renaissance manuscripts in libraries and archives worldwide. Subject areas include: Classics, Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Crusades, Hagiography, Onomastics, Numismatics, Historiagraphy, Epigraphy, Medieval Manuscripts, Charters, Documents.
An archive of important scholarly journals from many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. A good source for full-text articles from reliable, scholarly sources, including many, but not all, of the most influential journals in the field of history.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Full-text of scholarly journals, including many key history journals.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
Similar to JSTOR, the archive provides full-text of back issue of academic journals.
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of full-text journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Though the focus is on the twentieth century, coverage of some titles dates to the eighteenth century.
The Wellesley Index identifies the(often anonymous) authors of articles in 45 major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. It incorporates the Curran Index of corrections and additions to the original index.
The vast majority of articles written for Victorian periodicals were published anonymously, or under pseudonyms. The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles within 45 major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. It incorporates the Curran Index of corrections and additions to the original index.
Western Pennsylvania History is an important regional journal with extensively illustrated articles that cover numerous subjects including history, archaeology, cultural interests, sports, literature, architecture, railroading, folk art, and much more. It is published by the Senator John Heinz History Center, and has been a source of information and scholarship since 1918. The journal was originally published as Western Pennsylvania Historical Magazine, and in the 1990s as Pittsburgh History.
Search across ten key databases in Women's Studies.
This resource provides access to over 232,000 records drawn from ten important Women's Studies databases. Among the databases included in Women's Resources International are Women's Studies Abstracts, one of the premiere Women's Studies indexes; four files from Women's Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin; Popline Subset on Women; and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography of Mostly English Language Journal Articles from the World Health Organization. Coverage: 1972 to date; citations and abstracts only. Updated semiannually. App information