Library Guides: CAS 100A: Effective Speech: Breslin

Informative Speech

Check out these great websites for occupational information:

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Job profiles maintained by the U.S. Department of Labor includes salaries, expected job growth, education, etc.
O*NET OnLine
Highly detailed descriptions of hundreds of occupations.

There are many, many books and e-books available to you. The following is a snapshot. For additional findings:

Go to the Library Homepage and select "Search the Catalog".
Do a Keyword search on topics like "engineering occupations", "engineering careers", "mechanical engineering" and jobs, etc.
Use the Facets (limiters) on the left to narrow your search

Careers in engineering
ISBN: 9781637000946
Publication Date: 2022
This e-book explores career opportunities for those who want to pursue a career in engineering.
Careers in science & engineering by Shally-Jensen, Michael
Call Number: Q147.C375 2015
ISBN: 9781619258600
Publication Date: 2015
This book provides information on a variety of engineering careers.
Learning engineering practice by Trevelyan, James P.
ISBN: 9781000289336
Publication Date: 2021
This e-book explains engineering practice, what engineers actually do in their work
Practical career advice for engineers by Radovan, Zdero
Call Number: TA157.Z43 2022
ISBN: 9781032044132
Publication Date: 2022
Written by an experienced engineer, this book is a series of personal conversation-style letters that offers practical career advice.

Persuasive Speech

As an enrolled Penn State student you have free access to LinkedIn Learning where you can learn how to use PowerPoint and much more!

How to prepare for your PowerPoint Presentation:

Click on LinkedIn Learning (below)
Login with your Penn State user ID and password
Search for PowerPoint 2016 Essential Training** in the search box
Browse the series of video tutorials (over 3 hours of material!)
Target what you need to know
Experiment with something fun

**HINT!

You may need to explore other training tutorials if you are using a MAC, Office 365, PowerPoint 2010, etc. If so...

Click the drop down "Browse" menu and select PowerPoint
Browse available tutorials and select the one that matches your needs

LinkedIn Learning
Free tutorials for Penn State students, faculty and staff.

Check out these engineering databases, handbooks, and e-books to help you find supporting information on your topic:

ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Great for mechanical engineering journals and conference papers!
ASME Digital Collection (mechanical engineering) contains full-text access to the American Society of Mechanical Engineer’s online journals since 1960 and conference papers since 2002.
Engineering Village 2 (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Great place to find engineering journals and conference materials!
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Great place for conference papers and standards!
IEEE Xplore contains the full text of all IEEE & IET conference papers, and standards published since 1988 and all IEEE journals since 1884 & IET journals since 1988. The material can be accessed through a searchable database or by browsing. 100 concurrent users. Inactive users timeout after 15 minutes. NOTE: We do not have access to the following IEEE content: IEEE Draft Standards, IEEE eLearning Library and IEEE English for Engineering. Additionally, we do not have access to various 3rd party content hosted by IEEE.
Inspec (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
Covers physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage: 1896-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Great coverage in engineering and patents.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Great for extensive engineering and property data for materials!
This resource features extensive engineering and property data for materials of all types. It contains the full-text of several ASM handbooks, including the Metals Handbook and the Engineered Materials Handbook.
Knovel E-Books This link opens in a new window
Knovel eBooks seamlessly interacts with Engineering Village to move from tools for e-books to journals.
Knovel eBooks provides access to highly desired handbooks, manuals, some textbooks, and other items in a cohesive fashion. It interacts with Engineering Village to provide seamless moving from journals to books, to providing tools to help use the information found in the eBooks. Examples include online graphing tools, materials information under different conditions, and equations for calculating using your data. Knovel is more books.

Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering
ISBN: 9783030470357
Publication Date: 2021
This e-book summarizes essential information on all major areas of mechanical engineering.

Taylor and Francis ebooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to purchased and various open access Taylor & Francis e-books.
Provides full-text access to purchased and various open access Taylor & Francis Ebooks, which include imprints published by Routledge, CRC Press, and Garland Science.

Group Presentation

Use strong search term strategies and the facets (limiters) in LionSearch to steer your hits to engineering and technical related results!

Examples of strong search term strategies:

"Chilean miners" and rescue
"heart defibrillators" and "mechanical operation"
FedEx and "overnight delivery"

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
an integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.

Use strong search term strategies or even conversational language in Google!

Limit your domain to .edu, .org, etc.
Use "All Filters" to focus your point of view
Use "Tools" to focus your date range

Debate

Use Opposing Viewpoints to find the pros/cons, statistics, and other supporting information for your debate topic!

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Great for pros/cons, images, news, stats, and much more on hot topics!
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.