Library Guides: Maps & Geospatial: Remotely Sensed Data: International or Global

Data Sources

LandScan This link opens in a new window
The Pennsylvania State University Libraries subscribes to the LandScan global population dataset produced by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Lab. LandScan data represent the finest spatial resolution global population dataset current available. The LandScan archive provides annually continuous data back to 2000. Data are available for download and as streaming data services.
"The premier human geography foundation population datasets - LandScan Global, LandScan High-Definition (HD), and LandScan USA - are now being offered to the public without restrictions. These datasets are intended to aid in emergency preparedness, readiness, response, and recovery missions; risk assessments; site suitability studies; and a full range of other applications that depend on accurate population data."

European Space Agency Earth Online
Earth Online provides discovery and download access to remote sensing datasets produced by the European Space Agency.

Copernicus Open Access Hub (European Commission)
Sentinel Hub Public Collection
EO Browser
Ready-to-use imagery and apps from Esri
Includes information on imagery collections in the ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World, Multispectral Landsat, Sentinel-2, National Agriculture Imagery Program (NAIP) (2010-2019), World Imagery basemap, world elevation, and imagery applications
Resources for Teaching Imagery & Remote Sensing (Esri)
Includes information on lessons, data, teaching resources, and recorded webinars
Introduction to Imagery & Remote Sensing (A Learn ArcGIS Project) Esri
Includes exercises to introduce learners to imagery and remote sensing
Imagery Workflows (Esri)
Provides documentation on the management, use, and analysis of imagery content
Maxar Open Data Program
Satellite Imagery for major crisis events

Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), LandScan Documentation
Includes viewer for the LandScan population data product and download options
LandScan Frequently asked questions (EastView page)
Provides additional responses to common questions on LandScan
LandScan Global
Includes links to download 2010-2012 worldwide coverage
East View Geospatial LandScan Global Archive
Includes link to online archive to download desired countries and geographic extents

Google Earth Engine
Google Earth Engine is a planetary-scale platform based on remote sensing data for environmental analysis. In addition to providing access to the Google data archive, partners are provided access to develop and run processes using Google’s parallel processing resources (i.e. idle Google servers).

Planet Education and Research Program
Includes form to fill out for access to imagery for non-commercial research purposes
Planet University
Includes quick start guide, introductions to Planet, remote sensing, Planet explorer, Planet Basemaps, Planet Stories, and account information
Planet Community
Create posts related to topics and contribute to suggestions for Planet products.