GIS Specialist
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Introduction
There is considerable (although not perfect) overlap in the datasets that are accessed through many of the federal data clearinghouses. Each data clearinghouse has somewhat different search and download (e.g. spatial and thematic subsetting, files formats and conversion etc.) functionality. As such, we encourage you to explore several different federal data clearinghouses while searching for remote sensing data.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
NASA is one of the largest producers of remote sensing data and derived data products (i.e. the results of analyses of remote sensing data). NASA program data is archived and sometimes distributed from a network of Distributed Area Archive Centers (DAAC). Below are some websites to download general NASA remote sensing data followed by links to each DAAC.
- The Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS)EOSDIS searches several NASA Earth Science Data Systems (e.g. Reverb, Global change master directory) through one interface and links to each individual disciplinary repository (listed below). We encourage you to both search for remote sensing data via the EOSDIS interface as well as visit the disciplinary DAAC pages.
- NASA Earth Exchange (NEX)NEX is one of the newest offerings from NASA and provides a platform for collaboration in addition to data discovery and download capabilities.
Links to NASA program specific DAACs. All of the following data clearinghouses provide access to remote sensing datasets as well as the outputs of models based on remote sensing data inputs and other data that is commonly used in investigations along with remote sensing data.
- Land Processes (LP) at the USGS EROS Data CenterThe LPDAAC provides access to MODIS and ASTER data, two of the most commonly used satellite remote sensors used in investigations of land processes.
- Upper atmosphere, global biosphere, atmospheric dynamics, and geophysics at the Goddard Space Flight CenterThe Goddard Earth Sciences Data and Information Services Center (GES DISC) provides access to a wide-range of remote sensing data including links to individual satellite missions and application (e.g. hydrology, aerosols etc.), portals.
- Physical Oceanography at the Jet Propulsion Lab (podaac)The podaac provides discovery and access to remote sensing datasets commonly used in oceanographic investigations.
- Snow and ice, cryosphere (non-SAR) and climate at the National Snow and Ice Data CenteThe National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSDIC) provides access to remote sensing data used in studies of the earth’s cryosphere (e.g. snow and ice).
- Biogeochemical Dynamics at the Oak Ridge National LabThe Oak Ridge National Lab (ORNL) DAAC provides access to remote sensing and the outputs of biogeochemical models.
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
USGS is responsible for several national data clearinghouses that distribute remote sensing datasets.
- The National Map (TNM)TNM represents the cornerstone of the USGS National Geospatial Program and is a major contributor to the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI). Remote sensing data distributed through the TNM includes orthoimagery and land cover data products.
- Earth ExplorerEarthExplorer is USGS’s primary data discovery and access platform serving remote sensing datasets including those from the Landsat, AVHRR and SPOT missions, LiDar data, declassified defense imagery and others.
- Earth as ArtOne of the easiest ways to grasp the power of remote sensing data is through appreciation of the beauty of the earth’s surface as viewed from space. Earth as Art images can be downloaded in high resolution and provide a valuable resource for instruction.
- LandsatLook ViewerProvides rapid interactive exploration of the Landsat image archive from a web-browser
- GloVisVisualization viewer
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
USDA administers several programs that produce often nationwide remote sensing datasets for agricultural and forestry applications.
- National Agricultural Imagery Program (NAIP)The USDA Farm Services Agency administers a program to collect nationwide “leaf-on” high resolution orthoimagery at regular intervals (currently 3-year intervals). NAIP data are available for download and via streaming data services.
- Geospatial Data GatewayThe Natural Resource Conservation Service (NRCS) administers the National Geospatial Data Gateway, which provides access to several national remote sensing datasets organized by state and county boundaries
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The EPA is a minor producer of remote sensing data in the U.S. government although they do distribute some remote sensing data.
- Environmental Dataset GatewayThe National Geospatial Program of the EPA was formed in 2000 to identify agency-wide geospatial data and technology needs, coordinate enterprise data and application development, promote relevant standards and coordinate and leverage investments
- Remote Sensing Information Gateway (RSIG)RSIG provides discovery and access to national remote sensing data produced by EPA and other agencies.
National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration
- DigitalCoastCoastal data, tools, training, and information needed to make these data truly useful
Non-federal
- TerraflyTerrafly is a National Science Foundation sponsored project at Florida International University to produce tools for visualization and querying of spatial data. This includes visualization of change through time as represented by time-series of historic aerial photographs. Historic aerial photographs can be viewed for any location in the world via the TimeMachine button. There is currently a fairly limited historic aerial photography collection for most places.