Library Guides: Computer Science and Engineering: Finding Articles and Databases

Specialized Databases

A list of databases to help you start your research in Computer Science and Engineering. For additional information on how to search each database and use their unique search features be sure to look at the databases help, tools, search tips, and tutorials pages located on the front page of each database. These pages and videos will walk you through the different methods and terms used for basic searches, advanced searches, etc. in each database.

Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and conference proceedings on all areas of engineering including computer science and computer engineering.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text publications of the Association for Computer Machinery (ACM), proceedings, and “bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.”
Full text of every article ever published by ACM.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full-text of all Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers standards, journals and conference proceedings covers a variety of topics related to engineering.
IEEE Xplore contains the full text of all IEEE & IET conference papers, and standards published since 1988 and all IEEE journals since 1884 & IET journals since 1988. The material can be accessed through a searchable database or by browsing. 100 concurrent users. Inactive users timeout after 15 minutes. NOTE: We do not have access to the following IEEE content: IEEE Draft Standards, IEEE eLearning Library and IEEE English for Engineering. Additionally, we do not have access to various 3rd party content hosted by IEEE.
Inspec (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from science and technical journals in the areas of electronics, control engineering, information technology, etc.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage: 1896-present.

CiteSeer
Scientific literature digital library and search engine for computer and information science related topics. “Provides resources such as algorithms, data, metadata, services, techniques, and software that can be used to promote other digital libraries.”
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS)
Covers computer science and information technology relate topics like artificial intelligence, bioinformatics, etc.

Springer Book Series This link opens in a new window
ebooks in science and engineering; includes computer science and network applications, optics, photonics, control systems, and signal processing.
SpringerLink (full text journal articles and electronic books) This link opens in a new window
Journals in science and engineering; includes computer science and network applications, optics, photonics, control systems, and signal processing.
Access to electronic editions of journals and electronic books to which Penn State University Libraries subscribes, published by a company called Springer-Verlag. Journals cover the fields of chemistry, computer science, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, and physics. Coverage: 1996-present. Updates: Continuous
Taylor and Francis ebooks This link opens in a new window
contains ebooks on a variety of engineering topics including network communications, telecommunications, systems engineering, and electrical engineering.
Provides full-text access to purchased and various open access Taylor & Francis Ebooks, which include imprints published by Routledge, CRC Press, and Garland Science.

CoGPrints
Self-archiving of papers on a variety of topics including computer science, artificial intelligence, complexity theory, dynamic systems, neural nets, machine learning, machine vision, human computer interaction, etc.

Software and Programming Books

Safari Learning Platform: Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Great place to find current programming books and publications from major publishers in computer science including O'Reilly, Sams, Que, Addison-Wesley, Peach Pit Press, New Riders, Microsoft, Adobe Press, and Cisco.
Safari Academic Edition includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. Includes access to exclusive O’Reilly content and resources from more than 200 other publishers.

Additional Top Databases

Additional databases to help you with your research in Computer Science and Engineering. For additional information on how to search each database and use their unique search features be sure to look at the databases help, tools, search tips, and tutorials pages located on the front page of each database. These pages and videos will walk you through the different methods and terms used for basic searches, advanced searches, etc. in each database.

ProQuest (Multiple Databases) This link opens in a new window
Magazine, journals and newspapers on current events, topics, and industry news
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. Keywords: news, New York Times, current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, English 15, CAS 100.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Contains papers on optics and photonics from SPIE journals and SPIE proceedings.
The SPIE Digital Library contains the full text of all papers appearing in SPIE Proceedings and SPIE journals from 1998 to the present, plus a substantial amount of full text coverage going back to 1990. SPIE publications cover all areas of optics and photonics.
Wiley Online Library Journals and eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides ebooks, journals, and reference works in a variety of areas including computer science and information technology.
Access to Penn State subscribed online publications (electronic journals, books and reference works) for researchers and professionals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Use to find citations to relevant articles in all areas of science and engineering
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Technical reports covering US government research, and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
NTRL is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest US government sponsored research, and worldwide scientific, technical, and engineering information.

Penn State University Libraries

Computer Science and Engineering

Tutorials and How-to Guides

Specialized Databases

Software and Programming Books

Additional Top Databases

Do we have that eJournal?