Skip to main content

History of Science

More Resources

The library has acquired a number of collections containing texts of significant works in the history of science, technology, and medicine. Some of these are not searchable in The CAT and require the use of printed guides to determine what is available.  Unless otherwise noted, all are located in Microforms and Government Information, Paterno, second floor.


Landmarks of Science: I
Call # Microprint .L35. Collection located at Annex.  Guide: Z7401.L3.  A collection of thousands of important works in the history of science. Contains first editions of significant works in all fields, from the beginning of printing up to the early 20th Century.

Landmarks of Science: II
Call # MICRO 4 LNDM. Expands on Landmarks of Science I, adding titles overlooked in the first series.

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800
Call # Microprint .Ea76. Collection located at Annex, some available online. A microcard collection with the texts of works published on all topics in the United States from 1639-1800.

Franklin Institute and the Making of Industrial America
Call Micro 4 FRANK. Guide: T1.F82F724 1987. Contains microfiche reproductions of a sampling of documents and photographs from the Franklin Institute relating to the organization's role in industrial America.

Manuscripta: Microfilms of rare and out-of-print books: List 81: History of science, 16th to 19th century, no. 1-137. Call # Microfilm D67. Collection located at Annex. Microfilm of originals in the library of the Musée Condé, Chantilly, France

Manuscripta: Microfilms of rare and out-of-print books : List 76: History of science and mathematics, no. 1-27. Call # Microfilm D61. Microfilm of originals in the library at Les Fontaines, Chantilly, France

Manuscripta: Microfilms of rare and out-of-print books : List 55: History of mathematics, no. 1-52. Call # Microfilm D53. Microfilm of originals in the Vatican Library

Records of the Committee on Arts and Sciences of the Franklin Institute, 1824-1900, Call # Microfilm A112. Collection located at Annex. Guide: T1.F825M23

General sites that provide starting points for research:

Loading ...