Offers portraits of more than 17,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation.
The American National Biography Online offers portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The online version reproduces the full-text of the original 24 volume set published in 1999, with new and updated entries added regularly. The online edition features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.
An index (not full text resource) to biographical information about influential people worldwide, both living and historical. Lists the contents of reference books with over 10 million references.
An index (not full text resource) to biographical information about influential people worldwide, both living and historical. Lists the contents of readily available current reference books as well as major reference works from the past. It currently has over 10 million references, with about 450,000 new ones added annually. See the Gale Web site for additional information and copyright statement. Coverage: Current edition. Updates: Continuous.
This resource provides in-depth coverage of major scientific and technological developments. It offers illustrated, detailed coverage of the discoveries, advances and milestones that continue to shape our lives.
Durbin, history and philosophy of science scholar and writer, has created a volume that includes about 100 terms from the natural and social sciences. For each term there is an extended definition and discussion of related philosophic issues. Each entry, about three and one-half pages, also provides a bibliography of some six to a dozen sources. A thorough index includes all terms and people discussed in the entries. This is an excellent source for an entree to the scholarly literature on basic topics such as chance, gender, history, indeterminism, instrumentalism, paradigm, scientific method, and vitalism.
Keeping pace with the ongoing rapid developments and expanding vocabularies of 100 different scientific and engineering fields, the fifth edition of this dictionary contains more than 5100 new terms. Many definitions are supplemented by detailed, informative illustrations.
This unique reference work includes: Intercultural articles on broad topics such as mathematics and astronomy Philosophical articles on concepts and ideas related to the study of non-Western science, such as Rationality, Objectivity, and Method, Religion and Science, East and West, and Magic and Science Actual articles on topics such as Native American mathematics, Polynesian navigation, Korean maps, and African metallurgy Biographical articles for those cultures where individual scientists are known to us, such as China and the Islamic world.
The relationship of science and religion -- Biographical studies -- Intellectual foundations and philosophical backgrounds -- Specific religious traditions and chronological periods -- Astronomy and cosmology -- The physical sciences -- The earth sciences -- The biological sciences -- Medicine and psychology -- The occult sciences.
Combining essays on people, theories, discoveries and concepts with overviews, primary documents and chronological elements, this reference offers a way to understand the impact of science on the course of human history and how science affects everyday life.