Library Guides: WMNST 106: Representing Women and Gender in Literature, Art and Popular Cultures: Resources

Academic Resources

Archives of Sexuality & Gender, Parts I - VI
Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research. The collection consists of LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I; LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; L'Enfer de la Bibliothèque nationale de France; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research. The collection consists of LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts I & II; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; L'Enfer de la Bibliothèque nationale de France; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; Community and Identity in North America.
LGBT Magazine Archive
Since this database covers 6 decades of some of the most influential LGBTQIA+ serial publications, it is a great resource for primary sources.
Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Coverage: 1954-2019.
LGBTQ+ Source
LGBTQ+ Source is a great resource for accessing academic journals articles related to LGBTQIA+ studies. It even includes a thesaurus that helps users identify additional keywords to guide their search!
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Designed for academic, professional and public communities, this database contains indexing and abstracts for GLBT-specific core periodicals.
LGBT Studies
LGBT Studies is a great place for sources related to LGBTQIA+ individuals in media and visual culture. It is especially strong in film footage.
LGBT Studies provides students and researchers across disciplines a multi-content perspective on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. It provides key resources of interest to students and researchers in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
LGBT Thought and Culture
This database includes a number of different types of formats, but the archival collections are especially great for those looking for LGBTQIA+ primary sources.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.
Women's Studies International
Although this database includes "Women's Studies" in its title, it is a strong resource for all research topics related to gender and sexuality. Like LGBTQ+ Source, it is best for academic journal articles.
This resource provides access to over 232,000 records drawn from ten important Women's Studies databases. Among the databases included in Women's Resources International are Women's Studies Abstracts, one of the premiere Women's Studies indexes; four files from Women Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin; Popline Subset on Women; and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography of Mostly English Language Journal Articles from the World Health Organization. Coverage: 1972 to date; citations and abstracts only. Updated semiannually.

.GBT Studies in Video

Open Access WGSS Resources

Open Access Journals

Accessing content from academic journals can be difficult and costly without login information provided by a major research university, such as Penn State. Below is a list of open access journals on topics related women's, gender, and sexuality studies. The articles can be accessed online for free without university login credentials.

Penn State Historical Resources

Women's Suffrage Collection
"The Women’s Suffrage collection documents both the national women’s rights movement and the women’s suffrage movement in Pennsylvania purchased by the Eberly Family Special Collections Library.

These materials include booklets, editorial cartoons, fliers and pamphlets documenting the work of : the Pennsylvania League of Women Voters; the National League of Women Voters (U.S.); the National Women's Trade Union League of America; the Pennsylvania Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage; and the Pennsylvania Woman Suffrage Association."
Homophiles of Penn State (HOPS) records
"The Homophilies of Penn State (HOPS), was a student organization founded in 1971 at the Pennsylvania State University. The club aimed to change attitudes towards homosexuality through legal reform, pubic education and individual counseling. It was officially recognized by Penn State in March 1971, however was suspended by University administration two months later in May 1971."
Penn State queer and trans oral history collection
"This collection contains oral history interviews conducted with eight past or present members of the Penn State LGBTQIA+ community, including alumni, students, and faculty members. The interviews were completed over the course of six months by Cora Butcher-Spellman, the Malloy Graduate Assistant in the University Archives during the 2022- 2023 academic year."
Alice Marshall Women's History Collection
"The Alice Marshall Women's History Collection, part of the Penn State Harrisburg Library's Archives and Special Collections, consists of literary, graphic, and manuscript materials dealing with the issues and individuals that comprised women's history from the 15th century to the early 1980s. Compiled by Alice Kahler Marshall (1923-97), the collection encompasses all areas of women's lives and includes 7,000 books and pamphlets (many of them rare), over 400 periodical titles (magazines and newspapers), and thousands of other materials—sheet music, diaries, posters, postcards, photographs, buttons (relating to wars, political campaigns, and social issues), book and magazine illustrations, advertisements, broadsides, trade cards, fashion plates, manuscript letters and documents, and more."
Gender and Sexual Identity and Expression
"Photographs, newsletters newspapers, flyers, typescripts, postcards, and scrapbooks are among formats included in the Gender and Sexual Identity and Expression digital collection. Materials in the collection were curated from disparate sources, from Penn State University Archives to items acquired by the Eberly Family Special Collections Library. All materials, and others on the topics of gender and sexuality, are available for use in the Eberly Family Special Collections Library."