This guide is for students enrolled in ENGL 191: Science Fiction with Dr. Christyne Berzsenyi on the Penn State Wilkes-Barre Campus. The guide includes research sources specific to the science fiction genre, including books, encyclopedias, and databases.
A list of research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia,
Brief essays by experts on major topics in and assortment of arts and humanities disciplines. Each essay selects and describes the important scholarship on the topic. Items in the annotated bibliographies usually link to library holdings.
Freely accessible and digital version of the Encyclopedia of Fantasy (1997), originally edited by John Clute and John Grant. The digital edition was prepared by David Langford in 1999 and has been published online since 2012.
3rd edition. Edited by John Clute, David Langford, Peter Nicholls (Emeritus) and Graham Sleight (Managing). This freely available online resource is based upon previously published print editions of the encyclopedia (1979-1999) and a CD-ROM edition (1995). It aims to provide a comprehensive, scholarly, and critical guide to science fiction in all its forms and is updated regularly.
The first historical dictionary devoted to science fiction, Brave New Words:The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction shows exactly how science-fictional words and their associated concepts have developed over time, with full citations and bibliographic information.
The Cambridge History of Science Fiction is a landmark volume as the first authoritative history of the genre. Over forty contributors with diverse and complementary specialties present a history of science fiction across national and genre boundaries, and trace its intellectual and creative roots in the philosophical and fantastic narratives of the ancient past.