Contact Your Librarian
Music Sources
Background Information
- Smithsonian Folk Ways RecordingsThe non-profit record label of the Smithsonian Institution, this website features recordings from around the world, as well as resources for learning about music from many cultures.
- Grove Music Online (New Grove Dictionary of Music) This link opens in a new windowGrove Music Online has information on a wide range of music topics, including music cultures around the world, musician profiles, and national anthems.
Music Around the World: a Global Encyclopedia [3 Volumes] by ISBN: 9781610694995Publication Date: 2020This encyclopedia provides detailed entries on specific musicians, composers, musical instruments, and musical genres from around the world. Does not provide overviews by country.
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Music and Culture by ISBN: 9781483317755Publication Date: 2019"The SAGE Encyclopedia of Music and Culture presents key concepts in the study of music in its cultural context and provides an introduction to the discipline of ethnomusicology, its methods, concerns, and its contributions to knowledge and understanding of the world's musical cultures, styles, and practices." Includes cultural information and country overviews.
Scholarly Journal Articles
- Search the Find box (also known as LionSearch) on our homepage, then click on the first box, "Journal Articles"
Books in the Catalog
Browse the catalog by subject. Just go to the catalog and input your keywords. Try out these examples:
Use the filters on the left to narrow by language, subject, format, publication year, and more!
Newspapers, Magazines, and Music Reviews
- Search all magazines and newspapers available at Penn State here.
- Get a subscription to The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal here.
- National Public Radio (NPR) music reviews
- Rolling Stone Magazine
Dance Sources
- International encyclopedia of danceProvides historical and descriptive materials on dance music, costumes, criticism, and more.