Library Guides: COMM 498: Special Topics: The Media and Mass Incarceration: Statistical Info

U.S. Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
a comprehensive compendium of statistics
Provides a comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between. Over 80 scholars have contributed their efforts and expertise to select, assemble, and document the data, to write the introductory essays, and to analyze the material.

Census Reporter
Detailed information on demographics, income, health insurance coverage, poverty, commute times (U.S. Census Bureau)

USA.gov: Data and Statistics
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
Data.gov
"The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government."

UNdata This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics on a wide range of social and economic data series from 30 specialized international intergovernmental agencies including POPIN, World Bank, IMF, UNESCO, UNICEF, and WHO.
UNSTATS provides data on a wide range of social and economic data series from 30 specialized international intergovernmental agencies including POPIN, World Bank, IMF, UNESCO, UNICEF, and WHO. Data can be displayed in HTML or downloaded in Excel or CSV format.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Rich collection of statistics primarily from OECD countries, but also include other countries for broader themes.
Full-text book and serial publications from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Also includes many of the data sets available from the organization. Open Access as of 7/1/24.

International Organizations
Provides links to major International Government Organizations focusing on major themes such as: trade, labor, environment, education, development, and other topics.

Pennsylvania State Agency Databases
a list of databases and resources published by the Pennsylvania government organized by topics.
Pennsylvania State Data Center
The PaSDC site provides quick facts and statistics for Pennsylvania. It is the official government agency that publishes the Pennsylvania Abstract 1958-Present

Pennsylvania Abstract
PA Abstract published 1958-present provides general statistics from several PA government agencies. Online version of this title 2007-Present is available through Statistical Insight.

Center for Rural Pennsylvania
The Center for Rural Pennsylvania is a bipartisan, bicameral legislative agency that works with other organizations to provide statistics for rural policy within the Pennsylvania General Assembly.