Librarian for Political Science, Policy Studies, and Government Information
Introduction
This is an annotated list of databases, mostly selected from Pennsylvania State Government Agencies listed by database subject. It was compiled by Kathy HaIe at the State Library of Pennsylvania as part of a project of the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) of the American Library association.
- State Agency Databases Project: Home [GODORT]Go here for a list of databases from other states.
Agriculture & Food Sources
- USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service: Pennsylvania OfficeAgricultural statistics of PA (in cooperation with USDA).
- Organic Integrity Database [USDA]Find organic growers by product or zip code in Pennsylvania.
- AgmapA directory of agricultural businesses in Pennsylvania, from Penn State.
Business, Finance & Economy
- Municipal StatisticsA variety of data from counties, cities, boroughs, first class townships, second class townships, school districts, and municipal authorities.
- PA Financial Institutions SearchFind licensed financial institutions in PA including banks, lenders, brokers.
- Electric Shopping GuideComparison shopping for electricity companies in PA.
- Natural Gas Shopping GuideComparison shopping for natural gas companies in PA.
Community & Social Services
- PA Child Support Program: Domestic Relations SectionsSearch by county.
Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement
- County Prison Contact InformationCounty prisons are not under the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections. At this site view a list of county prisons and their administrators.
- Inmate/Parolee LocatorInmate/Parolee database searchable by number of criteria including name, committing county, citizenship status, date of birth or age. Records by be sorted by name, race, location, inmate number, committing county or date of birth
Earth & the Environment
- Invasive Plants in PennsylvaniaA database to find those plants that are not native to Pennsylvania.
Education
- Data and ReportingPre-K to Grade 12 School Statistics.
- Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance AgencyDirectories and databases for finding funding for college.
- Digital Library CollectionsMaterials that have been specifically digitized by the State Library. This link will also take you out to other digital collections of Pennsylvania.
- EdNAUse this database to find the names and address about educational entities in Pennsylvania such as school districts, libraries and centers of higher education.
- Pennsylvania's State System of Higher EducationThe State System universities offer more than 2,300 degree and certificate programs in more than 530 academic areas.
Government Agencies & Elected Officials
- Find your LegislatorFind your state legislator or senator by zip code
Government Finances & Contracts
- Contracts e-LibraryCentralized database of comprehensive information about Pennsylvania government goods and services contracts.
- Reports and StatisticsPage to take a person to various reports and statistics for the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue such as monthly tax collections, enhanced revenue collections, etc.
Health, Medicine & Safety
- Introduction [Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System]State and local data by year.
- EDDIEInteractive web tool for Pennsylvania health statistics.
- Healthy People 2030Contains HP2030 Focus Area and Leading Health Indicators for the state, by county, and selected demographics.
- My Records [Vital Records]Page for applying for death and birth certificates.
History, People & Culture
- Our Documentary HeritageA digital sampling of the historical documents in the PA State Archives.
- State Library of PennsylvaniaAccess to discovering the collections of the State Library including, books, maps, newspapers, and digital collections.
- Pennsylvania Historical Marker SearchSince 1946, the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission has administered a program of historical markers to capture the memory of people, places, and events that have affected the lives of Pennsylvanians over the centuries since William Penn founded his Commonwealth.
Search for historic markers by Title, County, Keyword or Category.
In 2011 Governor Corbet signed into law that anyone could apply to the Pennsylvania State Archives for birth certificates of 100 years and death certificates from 50 years.
- Birth IndicesBirth records file numbers for retrieval of birth certificates from 1906-1916.
- Death recordsSearching for file numbers for death records from 1906 to 1968.
Jobs & Unemployment
- Careerlink - Job searchcan search by job or location throughout Pennsylvania
Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues
- Pennsylvania Code & BulletinThe Pennsylvania administrative Code changes effective through 49 Pa.B. 5934 (October 5, 2019).
The Bulletin is the Commonwealth's official gazette for information and rulemaking. - Unofficial Purdon's Pennsylvania Statutes from WestlawUnannoted consolidated statutes. Provided by Westlaw.
- Bills and AmendmentsFind Bills back to 1953.
Please Note: Only bill text and short title are available for sessions prior to 1969. Some search criteria and options may be limited for searches in sessions prior to 1969.
Find Amendments back to 2007. - House JournalsPa House Journals, transcripts and floor actions.
- House Roll Call votesPA House of Representatives Roll Call Votes by date.
- House Committee Roll Call VotesPA House of Representatives Committee Roll Call Votes.
- PaLegis NotificationsYou can now subscribe to email legislative updates from the Pennsylvania General Assembly. You can request a daily email that will tell you about all the actions taken on the floor that day. You can also request hourly emails that track the activity on a piece of legislation.
- Senate JournalsPA Senate Journals, transcripts of floor action.
- Senate Session NotesPA Senate Session Notes.
- Senate Amendments by DatePA Senate Amendments by date.
- PA Senate Committee Roll Call VotesPA Senate Committee Roll Call Votes.
- Legislation enactedPennsylvania Legislation enacted since 1975.
Licensing
- Verify a ProfessionalPennsylvania online license verification service.
Military & Veterans
Recreation, Travel & Tourism
- State Forest District IndexFind one of the State Forests by district; interactive map.
- Pennsylvania State ParksFind parks, make reservations for campsites, cabins, picnic pavilions and whitewater boating launch times online.
Science & Technology
There is no database at this time.
Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS
- Pennsylvania Game CommissionFind your game area for hunting and fishing in Pennsylvania and map it.
Transportation
- Find Greyhound Bus Stations in PennsylvaniaFind Greyhound bus stations in Pennsylvania.
- PennDOTPennsylvania Department of Transportation.
- Public Transit OptionsPublic transportation options available in Pennsylvania,
- Traffic Information Repository (TIRe)TIRe is designed to enable Internet users to view interactive maps of traffic counter site locations and traffic count information for roadways throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
- 511 Travel Info to GoInteractive Travel Map.
- VideologA video log of major highways
Voting & Elections
- Election ResultsElection results by county