Handbooks, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Oxford Handbook of World Englishes by Call Number: PE1074.O84 2017ISBN: 9780199777716Publication Date: 2017
The Routledge Handbook of English Language Studies by ISBN: 9781351001694Publication Date: 2018AVAILABLE ONLINE. Certain chapters in this book would be particularly relevant to APLNG 210, like "English and colonialism," "World Englishes," and "The politics of English."
The Handbook of World Englishes by ISBN: 9781405111850Publication Date: 2006-12-08This book articulates the visions of scholars from major varieties of world Englishes including African, Asian, European, and North and South American. Discusses topics including the sociolinguistic contexts of varieties of English in the inner, outer, and expanding circles of its users; the ranges of functional domains in which these varieties are used; the place of English in language policies and language planning; and debates about English as a cause of language death, murder and suicide.
A Dictionary of Varieties of English by ISBN: 9781118584088Publication Date: 2013AVAILABLE ONLINE. A Dictionary of Varieties of English presents a comprehensive listing of the distinctive dialects and forms of English spoken throughout the contemporary world.
Books
Unequal Englishes: the politics of Englishes today / edited by Ruanni Tupas.
- AVAILABLE ONLINE.
- Includes chapters on a variety of regions, including Japan, China, Singapore and Hawaii
Exploring World Englishes: language in a global context / Philip Seargeant
- AVAILABLE ONLINE
- Great introductory resource for information on language variation and linguistic terminology for World Englishes.
- AVAILABLE ONLINE
- Includes region-specific chapters, such as "English in the Caribbean," "English in South Asia," etc.
- AVAILABLE ONLINE
- Includes chapters on varieties of English in different countries. These also include brief regional histories and statistics.
Journals
- World EnglishesAVAILABLE ONLINE
"World Englishes is an international journal committed to empirical research on Englishes in their cultural, global, linguistic and social contexts." - English Today: The International Review of the English languageAVAILABLE ONLINE
"English Today provides accessible cutting-edge reports on all aspects of the language, including style, usage, dictionaries, literary language, Plain English, the Internet and language teaching, in terms of British, American and the world’s many other Englishes."
Blogs and Web Resources
- EthnologueLook up countries or languages to find official statistics on the number of native and second-language speakers of English there, as well as other information and statistics (such as whether or not English is an official language).
- Language on the Move"Language on the Move (ISSN 2203-5001) is a peer-reviewed sociolinguistics research site devoted to multilingualism, language learning and intercultural communication in the contexts of globalization and migration."
Try searching for the tag "English as a Global Language" for articles on World Englishes. - Lingua ObscuraThis column on JSTOR Daily explores a wide range of linguistic topics, including language politics and globalization.
- PSU Libraries Applied Linguistics Subject GuideFor more sources at Penn State on applied linguistics, see this library guide.
Language Archives and Corpora
What is a linguistic corpus (plural: corpora)?
A linguistic corpus is a collection of "real-world" language samples. Linguists often use corpora to analyze language. Samples from corpora are considered primary sources, and are helpful for examining linguistic features or variation between English dialects.
- Corpus of Global Web-Based English (GloWbE)The corpus of Global Web-based English (GloWbE; pronounced "globe") is unique in the way that it allows you to carry out comparisons between different varieties of English...GloWbE contains about 1.9 billion words of text from twenty different countries.
- International Dialects of English Archive"The International Dialects of English Archive was created in 1998 as the internet’s first archive of primary-source recordings of English-language dialects and accents as heard around the world. With roughly 1,500 samples from 120 countries and territories, and more than 170 hours of recordings, IDEA is now the largest archive of its kind."
- Visual Accent & Dialect Archive"The Visual Accent & Dialect Archive (VADA) is an archive of curated video clips from around the world, providing both auditory and gestural information about an accent or dialect."