Ask the Brandywine Librarians
Have Questions?
- Email Address: bwlibrary@psu.edu
- Phone Number: 610.892.1380
- Text Number: 610.314.7890
- Library hours
The Information Cycle
The information cycle is the progression of media coverage of a newsworthy event. Understanding the information cycle can help you determine what kind of information you are likely to find about your topic. This video from UNLV's Lied Library shows how an event can unfold in the information cycle.
Get Started Here
Science Controvery Background
- Scientific Controversy: Development and resolution of controversiesDid you know that science is full of controversy? And that controversy in science can be a good thing? A scientific controversy is more than a disagreement between scientists. In fact, controversies are found in all scientific fields and usually lead to progress in science.
- Understanding Science 101: Is a controversy misrepresented or blown out of proportion?it’s not surprising then that media reports on science often focus on controversy. However, when a scientific idea is portrayed as controversial in the popular media or in a policy, that conflict might be one of a few different types, which stem from different sources.
- Communicating Science Effectively: A Research Agenda (2017) Chapter: 3 The Nature of Science-Related Public ControversiesThe Nature of Science-Related Public Controversies
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 2017. Communicating Science Effectively: A Research Agenda. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. https://doi.org/10.17226/23674. - Understanding and Addressing Misinformation About ScienceClick the READ FREE ONLINE button to access this book from the National Academies of Science on misinformation in science
- Scientific Ethics: Ethical standards and their implicationsWhere does ethics fit in? Fraud and misconduct in science highlight the need for a system of ethics to ensure proper behavior and reliable research in science.
- What Is Ethics in Research & Why Is It Important?An opinion article on the importance of ethics in research from Bioethicist David B. Resnik, J.D., Ph.D.
What is an annotated bibliography?
An annotated bibliography a list of sources with accompanying notes and commentary, called annotations, that describe and evaluate the sources. What goes in your annotations will depend on what your instructor requires, or what you're using your notes for. Usually an annotation will include a brief summary of the source and also an evaluative statement. Is this a good source for your project? What is useful about it? What is not useful about it?
Annotated bibliographies are a big part of research. You have a question that you want answered, and in the course of your research, you may find that you want to go back to a source you previously did not think would be useful. If you have annotations for each source you've found, you'll know exactly which source it was and why it may now be of more use than you thought.
Purdue OWL gives us some good tips on what questions to ask for our annotations, as well as how to format this type of paper.
- Summarize: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is.
For more help, see our handout on paraphrasing sources.
- Assess: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source?
For more help, see our handouts on evaluating resources.
- Reflect: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Was this source helpful to you? How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?
adapted from: Purdue Online Writing Lab. (2024). "Annotated Bibliographies." Purdue OWL. https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/general_writing/common_writing_assignments/annotated_bibliographies/index.html
Find sources for your bibliography here:
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Find APA Citation Help here:
- APA Quick Citation GuidePenn State guide for APA references with examples.
- This course guide - APA tipsA page designed to support students in this class with APA citations
The Concise APA Handbook by ISBN: 9781648021831Publication Date: 2021-02-01This updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing.
