Library Guides: Kinesiology at Berks: Find Background Information & Books

Background Sources

Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window
Helpful if you are designing a research project. Explains research methods, including qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. SAGE Research Methods contains content from more than 640 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire Little Green Book, and Little Blue Book series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and newly commissioned videos. Our access is to: SRM Core Update 2020-2025; SRM Cases (includes updates through 2025); SRM Cases 2.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Find background information on a topic, e.g. golf swing
A collection of over 2000 reference resources.

Course Reserves

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
the list of what is owned by Penn State Libraries.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

Use the Keyword function and combine terms to search on a topic then use the subject headings from relevant books for additional search terms.
Write down the call number and location for any book you want. If the item is not at your campus use the "I Want It" button to request it.
For electronic books, click the link under the words "online content" to access the full text

You can also find books via

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
Select Book / eBook under the Content Type limits on the left.