Library Guides: BMB 448: Model Systems and Approaches in Cell Biology Inquiry: Find Protocols

Protocol Databases

Finding Protocols in Springer Nature Experiments

Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Online version of several protocols series, including Methods in Molecular Biology
Springer Nature Experiments is the world's largest database of laboratory research protocols, and comprises the popular monographic series Methods in Molecular Biology plus protocols gleaned from Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals. Researchers can browse the database by subject collection, search the database full-text, or follow a link to a protocol from other search engines like LionSearch or Google Scholar, or from a database such as PubMed or Web of Knowledge.

Search Tips:

In search results, limit to Protocol under the "Article category" section
Limit search to Methods in Molecular Biology series, or another relevant series under the "Source" section

Finding Protocols in BIOSIS Citation Index

BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
biomedical protocols are often linked from journal articles
Get a comprehensive view of life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. The new BIOSIS Citation Index combines the unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing only the Web of Science™ can provide. You can rely on comprehensive and relevant life sciences coverage that eliminates excess and delivers data that is accurate, meaningful and timely.

Search Tips:

-in the first search line, put in a fairly broad topic, such as "bacteria"

-in the second search line, change the drop down box to "literature type" and select "protocol" from the list to get articles that mostly describe a particular standard or protocol

-in the second search line, change the drop down box to "major concepts" and type "methods and techniques" in the search box to get a large result set that may include descriptions of protocols but are not strictly about protocols

-in the second search line, change the drop down box to "publication name" and type "method*" in the search box to get a result set with source titles such as Methods, Methods in Enzymology, Methods in Molecular Biology

Other Protocol Databases

Protocol Online
organizes protocols into an hierarchical arrangement of categories; users must click several times before getting to links to protocols
Bio-Protocol
organizes protocols by field or organism
Video Protocols
non-profit website to watch or share video biomedical research protocols
BITNOS list of biomedical protocols
lists biomedical web applications and search tools, including free and subscription databases of protocols