More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, organizational newsletters, and other genres. Includes many Rare and short-lived titles.
Use to find articles and other works on U.S. and Canadian history.
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography.
Full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals
Black Studies Periodicals Database (Formerly International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text) draws its current content from more than 150 international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals. It covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology among others.
Find articles and other materials about World history from the year 1450 to the present.
Search for articles and other publications on world history from 1450 to present, (except for the United States and Canada which are indexed in the companion work, America: History and Life). The database includes articles in journals worldwide, including a selection of major social science and humanities journals. Also included are references to dissertations and books.
Full-text of scholarly journals, including many history and humanities titles.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
Full-text archive of scholarly journals many fields, including dozens of core history journals.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies is a quarterly journal that publishes the best of current scholarship on the history of the Commonwealth and the region. In addition to regular articles, the journal features annotated documents, book reviews, and reviews of museum exhibits, films, and historical collections. Published since 1934, Pennsylvania History is the official journal of the Pennsylvania Historical Association (PHA).
The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography (PMHB) is a quarterly scholarly journal and one of the country’s most prestigious state historical publications. Published since 1877 by The Historical Society of Pennsylvania, it is an important resource for those interested in a scholarly approach to state and local history, industry, genealogy, culture, and related subjects.
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of full-text journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Though the focus is on the twentieth century, coverage of some titles dates to the eighteenth century.
Western Pennsylvania History is an important regional journal with extensively illustrated articles that cover numerous subjects including history, archaeology, cultural interests, sports, literature, architecture, railroading, folk art, and much more. It is published by the Senator John Heinz History Center, and has been a source of information and scholarship since 1918. The journal was originally published as Western Pennsylvania Historical Magazine, and in the 1990s as Pittsburgh History.
Use to find articles published since 1950. Also published under various titles: Index to Selected Periodicals, Index to Periodical Articles By and About Negroes, and Index to Periodical Articles By and About Blacks