More than 270 African American newspapers from 35 states.
Beginning with the Freedom's Journal (NY)--the first African American newspaper published in the United States--this database includes page reproductions of African American newspapers from every region of the United States.
Primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts.
Includes six historical black newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Chicago Defender (1910-1975); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Norfolk Journal Guide (1916-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Provides historical coverage of African American periodicals.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Continuously growing since 1991, with archival material back to 1985, Ethnic NewsWatch is now a collection of more than 470,000 full-text articles from over 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 100,000 articles in Spanish, ENW offers in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and retrospective topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. An average of 7,500 new articles is added each month.
Over 1,000 independent alternative press titles published in the 60s, 70s and 80s. Includes the voices of feminists, campus activists, Native Americans, anti-war activists, civil rights and Black Power advocates, LGBTQ communities and more.
Independent Voices is a four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries. Chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Search across a million pages of full text and browse every issue, cover-to-cover, in full color. Consolidated for the first time, over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries providing easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTs and more. All of the content is completely copyright cleared with the ultimate transition to open access in mind. Access provided under Creative Commons Non-Commercial License. Rights to the individual works that make up this collection remain with the original copyrights holder.
This guide provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google.