Library Guides: ENGR 802: Engineering Across Cultures and Nations: Key Resources

Key Resources - Assessment of Economy and Business Environment Paper

CountryData Online
Use to find your country's Composite Risk Rating
- Scroll down to select your country, the variables you want, and the year and months
- To select multiple variables, hold CTRL while making selections
CountryData offers political, economic, financial, and social data for over 140 countries, in most cases back to 1984. CountryData is also the only source for current and historical risk ratings developed from the International Country Risk Guide and Political Risk Services rating systems conducted by PRS Group. Note: the tabs International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) and Political Risk Services (PRS) provide access to information regarding methodology, but do not provide access to the actual products. Access to the CountryData and the Political Risk Yearbook are available through the University Libraries A-Z list.

PRS Political Risk Yearbook
Available through CountryData Online (above). Bigger picture than general business culture. Focuses more on laws and policy that may affect international business. Select your country and download a copy of the Country Report
Global Competitiveness Report 2019 - World Economic Forum
Profiles the competitiveness of countries around the world
World Competitiveness Ranking - IMD
Ranking of countries' economic competitiveness

Trade Map - International Trade Centre
Includes "indicators on export performance, international demand, alternative markets and competitive markets"
Trade Bloc - Wikipedia
Defines trade bloc and highlights existing trade blocs

A to Z World Business
Includes information on each country including, imports, exports, investment climate, and trade

Also provides the business culture and culture and society content that is part of the assigned readings for this course

The A to Z World Business database includes information about business culture and practices in 100 countries. It also includes up-to-date information on importing, exporting, and logistics. This database is especially useful for students enrolled in International Business courses, Supply Chain Management courses and students participating in global immersion programs.
World Bank Data (WDI, GDF, ADI, GEM)
Includes a data visualization tool

Includes 2000+ indicators, many with 50 years of data, including contains the full World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), and Africa Development Indicators (ADI) as well as several other World Bank databases such as Global Economic Monitor (GEM), Education Statistics, etc.