It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Investigate a company's background, including products/services, executives, and financials. Also include investment analyst reports.
MergentOnline (formerly FISonline) is a subscription-based service offering information on over 15,000 U.S. public companies and 30,000 non-U.S. public companies. MergentOnline is produced by Mergent, Inc., formerly known as Moody's). Mergent/Moody's is a publisher of detailed business descriptions, corporate histories and financial statements since 1900. The database also includes the Country Report module, a module that consists of the following resources: DnB Country Risk Profile, DnB Country RiskLine Report, and Mergent Country Profile.
Includes company profiles, industry information, and analyst commentary
Value Line is the standard investment advisory service. The Web research center provides access to the standard Value Line Investment Survey and to its related resources.
Special Access Notes: Only 10 concurrent users.
Search for a report about the industry your company operates in and check the "Key Statistics" tab for industry ratios
IBISWorld provides over 700 full-text industry reports, 700 US industry risk rating reports, and information on over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of economic and demographic profiles.
Database covering a range of deals, including M&A, IPOs, private equity, and venture capital.
Zephyr is a comprehensive database of deal information. It contains information on global Mergers & Acquisitions (M & A), Initial Public Offerings (IPOs), private equity and venture capital deals, and news about pending M & A activity.
Database covering venture capital, angel investment, and private equity.
CB Insights is a venture capital, angel investment, and private equity database. It includes information about the financing and activities of start-ups (their industries, investors, and acquirers). Student and faculty entrepreneurs can use it to research a specific start-up or funder, or to create a list of start-ups. Students and faculty in Finance can use it to track deal activity. CB Insights can also help students identify prospective employers, especially high growth private companies. Penn State tech transfer units can use CB Insights to find potential partners. First-time users will be prompted to create an account using their Penn State email address.
Special Access Notes: Requires the GlobalProtect VPN for access
WRDS Day Pass is as an option for limited-time access to the WRDS platform and data such as CRSP, Compustat, and others.
WRDS Day Pass is as an option for limited-time access to WRDS for those who do not meet requirements for individual WRDS accounts. WRDS provides Web access to a number of financial research databases, including Compustat, CRSP (Center for Research in Securities Prices), Dow Jones Averages, FDIC, and Philadelphia Stock Exchange. WRDS is intended for academic, non-commercial purposes only. All databases have been licensed for the non-profit educational use of Penn State faculty, staff, and students.
Special Access Notes: Register for Day Pass using your PSU email address and you will receive a confirmation email from WRDS with a link for limited-time access (typically 24 hours). After the link expires, you can request a new WRDS Day Pass.
Labitan emphasizes four filters, all of which involve in-depth research on an investment:
1) Develop an understanding of a company and its products
2) Does a company have a sustainable competitive advantage?
3) Does a company have able and trustworthy managers?
4) Is the company available at a bargain price?
Link to the Table of Contents of Valuation and Common Sense (7th edition) by Pablo Fernandez. Use the Table of Contents to access chapters of interest. Requires a (free) SSRN account to access full content.
Tools and Templates
Below are links to data analysis tools and websites featuring Excel templates that can be used for bonds valuation and equity DCF/stock price valuation.