It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LionSearch can help you find any kind of resource that we have in our collections. Try searching “human rights [country name]” — just don’t type the quotes. For example: "human rights Malaysia” or “human rights Russia."
Documentation from over 480 non-governmental human rights organizations throughout the world, 1980-present
Human Rights Documents Online contains documents collected since 1980 by the Human Rights Internet, the unofficial depository for documentation produced by more than 480 non-governmental human rights organizations throughout the world. Reports may be universal in scope or focus on a specific area of the world. Users can find documents by using a keyword search or browsing by country. The database is updated regularly.
Database of full-text treaties, 1992-to date, with five categories of treaty-related data
This collection includes five categories of treaty-related data: Status of Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General The United Nations Treaty Series (full text) Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties Photographs of Treaty Signature ceremonies Tiles of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General in the UN official languages. A complete description of the database is available at: http://untreaty.un.org/English/overview.asp As of April 2000, the database contains full text of treaties from 1992-to date. Additional years are continually added.
Access to publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs, hundreds more added yearly
It provides librarians, information specialists, scholars, students, policy makers, influencers and the general public with a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs. United Nations iLibrary offers an extensive list of features that deliver flexibility, speed, and efficiency such as intuitive navigation, integrated search results, granular content, citation tool, DOI identification, and multilingual content. Every year around 500 new titles are planned to be added to United Nations iLibrary.
Primary source documents, with records from civil rights activists and organizations, 1775 - present
Primary source documents including records from civil rights activists and organizations (Southern Christian Leadership Council, NAACP, Revolutionary Action Movement). Other collections include; Law and Society Since the Civil War; Slavery and the Law (petitions to southern legislatures and courts and slavery statutes); Southern Life and African-American History, 1775-1915 (diaries, account books and other records of daily life); The Struggle for Women's Rights, 1880-1990 (records of the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance); Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from The Schlesinger Library; The Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975, and Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, 1880-1930.
Documents and files related to FBI investigations of those deemed politically suspect
Digital collection of documents related to FBI investigations of those deemed politically suspect. This collection includes FBI files relating to: A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, the Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID), the Black Panther Party, North Carolina, COINTELPRO: Black Nationalist "Hate" Groups, the Committee for Public Justice, Elijah Muhammed, the Highlander Folk School, the Klu Klux Klan Murder of Viola Liuzzo, Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), Muslim Mosque, Inc., the NAACP, the National Negro Congress, the Organization of Afro-American Unity, Paul Robeson, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Thurgood Marshall, W.E.B. Du Bois
Collection of all known legal materials on slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world, with materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Included are every statute passed by every state and colony, all federal statutes, all reported state and federal cases on slavery, and hundreds of books and pamphlets on the subject. In total, the collection contains more than 1,000 titles and nearly 850,000 pages.
23,000+ articles and documents from Oxford's reference works, images, maps, charts, tables, more
African American Studies Center The AASC features the new, three-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, published by Oxford in 2006; the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine in 2005, the highly acclaimed five volume Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience The Center also includes content from much-anticipated forthcoming print publications including the African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes), edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr., scheduled for publication in 2008; and the Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture, due for publication 2007. In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works.