It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An excellent resource on the changing population distribution of antebellum Black Americans, this book covers census data by region and state. Two-thirds of the book consists of tables and graphs providing dimensional representations of black populations, both free and slave, in pre-Civil War America.
Nearly 2000 tables of statistical information on blacks in North America from colonial times until 1975. Subject-specific chapters are chronologically arranged and reflect developments in black history. Subjects include slavery, and the migration of blacks into the south between 1870 and 1910.
from the Data and Information Services Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison: "This site provides access to the raw data [Free registration is required to download the data] and documentation which contains information on slave trade topics from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries."
Find scholarly articles, court decisions, and legislation in addition to books on and about the law.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books indexes legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, and bar association publications from 1918 to the present. Coverage also includes books and full-text of selected articles from the early 1990s to the present.
Within the Special Collections Library at University Park, the Blockson Collection includes books, music, and magazines among the collection's many artifacts of the African American experience in the United States, Latin America, Caribbean, and Africa.
Find U.S. and international government documents in the Penn State Libraries.
The online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries.
Includes books, ebooks, videos, periodicals, maps, music, digitized works, microfilm titles, and other formats that are in the University Libraries' collections.
Note: you will not find articles from newspapers, magazines, or journals in the library catalog.
Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million titles. Updates: Hourly as new records are added or updated.
The Advanced Search feature in The CAT will allow you to limit by location:
scroll down to Paterno, 2nd Floor, U.S. Documents to limit your search to United States government documents.
The CQ Press Library includes many information resources about American government and public policy.
A reference source for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. The suite includes the online version of --CQ Weekly --CQ Researcher --CQ Congress Collection, --CQ Voting and Elections Collection --CQ Historic Documents Online
Find all types of congressional publications, including hearings, documents, reports, and committee prints.
Congressional provides access to the best web resources for congressional and legislative information. This includes services available to Penn State Users only, such as Congressional Universe (1789-to date) as well as other free services that provide similar or related information such as Thomas (1993-to date) and GPO Access (1993-to date). The Guided Tour provides a step-by-step approach to congressional and legislative information for users who have never done research of this type before. Updates:Continuous