Search for statistical tables published by the federal government (ASI), state organizations and companies (SRI), or international and inter-governmental agencies (IIS).
Statistical Universe is a powerful index to statistics and data contained in federal agency government publications. It duplicates all American Statistics Index (ASI) abstract and index records (with monthly updates). In addition, it also links to 800 full-text documents published since 1994 and stored on LEXIS®-NEXIS®, and links to 2,000 publications on federal agency Web sites. The University Library owns most of these collections in paper or microfiche format that do not contain full-text links. ASK for assistance locating information at any University Library Service Desk. The abstracts of all publications covered by ASI in 1996-97 include active links to agency Web sites where the full-texts can be accessed. The primary purpose of these links is to supplement the coverage of Statistical Universe as its full-text coverage expands. The links also enable users to explore an agency's Web site.
Data archive of social and political themes. Many tools for discovering data as well as an excellent resource for developing survey questions.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based, non-profit data archive located at the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan. It serves member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad by providing: Access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data, Training facilities for the study of quantitative social analysis techniques, Resources for social scientists using advanced computer technologies. PSU users get access to ICPSR by creating an individual account using their PSU e-mail ID. This is what identifies them as a PSU affiliate. We do not have IP access. Go to: http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/ICPSR/index.jsp - See login at top left. Note: occasionally you will need to login using a computer on campus to validate that you are still a PSU affiliate.
Rich collection of public opinion poll data back to the 1930s.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion back to the 1930s. The archive provides access to their resources through two principle resources:iPOLL allows you to search a database of more then 400,000 questions from surveys. Response frequencies are provided for each question and for some questions simple cross-tabulations are available [these are designated with a RoperExplorer Icon].Roper Express provides searching capablity and access to the code books and raw data files of Over 10,000 US and 8,000 International polls. Note: there are many questions in iPOLL that do not have corresponding data files in Roper Express.
Oldest archive of polling data with exclusive access to Harris public opinion poll data.
The Odum Institute maintains one of the oldest archives of polling data in the United States and is the exclusive repository for Louis Harris public opinion data. The Odum Institute Dataverse Network provides access to all of the data collections curated by the Odum Institute and from other scholars. The site allows access to downloadable data and allows researchers to do online analysis as well as sub-setting of large data sets.