Librarian
Exploring scholarly literature
-
How to Read & Understand a Social Science Journal ArticleRead this now and save yourself time when reading scholarly articles later.
Reference sources
-
New Palgrave Dictionary of EconomicsScholarly reference work with articles from leading economists
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowSelect "Economics" under Publications A to Z for critical reviews of economic literature
-
Economics Handbooks via Science Direct (Elsevier)A collection of research handbooks covering economics, econometrics, and finance.
-
Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research Reviews This link opens in a new windowOffers reviews of literature around major themes in economics and finance.
-
SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new windowReference materials to support any research project. Focused on methodologies rather than disciplines.
Databases and websites for research articles, working papers, and other scholarly content
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowAn essential article database for business and economics research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including news, trade, and scholarly journals.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA full-text archive of books and journals across many field, including economics
-
EconLit This link opens in a new windowEconLit provides citations, with selected abstracts, to economics journal articles, books, dissertations,and articles in collective works.
-
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new windowNational Bureau of Economic Research provides economic research from public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
-
SSRN - Social Science Research NetworkContains scholarly working papers across social science disciplines.
-
IDEASIDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowCovers scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Organizing and writing a literature review
-
Citation Tools, including Citation Generators and Citation Managers (Penn State)Many citation managers include a cite-as-you-write plug-in for Microsoft Word.
-
Ten Simple Rules for Writing a Literature ReviewPautasso, Marco, “Ten Simple Rules for Writing a Literature Review,” PLOS Computational Biology (July 2103); 1-4.
-
The Literature Review: A Few Tips on Conducting ItA guide written by Dena Taylor, University of Toronto Health Sciences Writing Centre