Library Guides: AGBM 308W: Strategic Decision Making in Agribusiness Management: Company Information

Company Information

Company website
Important source of information about a company's mission, vision, culture, and products and services. Tip: Keep in mind that the company will want to paint a positive picture on it's website; look to other sources for critical content. Follow links to the company's Investor site for key documents such as:
- Annual and/or 10-K reports
- Company presentation slide decks, including:
  - Earning results
  - Investor overview/investor day
  - Annual stockholder meeting
  - CAGNY conference
- Announcements and press releases, including:
  - M&A deals
  - New products
  - Organizational and leadership changes
  - Recalls
  - Other news items
- Profiles of senior leaders
- And other information

Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Investment research database providing information on stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. PSUL's subscription includes access to Morningstar Analyst Reports on stocks and mutual funds

Be sure to reveal and read the full analyst report. Data are usually very good sources of financial metrics for analyses and are dispersed through multiple tables
This investment research database provides information on stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Subscription includes access to Morningstar Analysts Reports on stocks and mutual funds.
Value Line This link opens in a new window
An investment advisory service that provides concise research reports on companies and industries
Value Line is the standard investment advisory service. The Web research center provides access to the standard Value Line Investment Survey and to its related resources. For historical Value Line Investment Surveys back to 1997, select "VLIS & SMC - Historical Archives" from the Dashboard.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Includes company descriptions, lists of competitors, limited financial information, links to SEC filings (including the 10-K), and limited news and industry information
Provides data on over 100 million privately held companies.
MergentOnline (company information - expiring 06/30/2025) This link opens in a new window
Detailed financial information as well as company descriptions, lists of competitors, links to SEC filings (including the 10-K), and more
MergentOnline (formerly FISonline) is a subscription-based service offering information on over 15,000 U.S. public companies and 30,000 non-U.S. public companies. MergentOnline is produced by Mergent, Inc., formerly known as Moody's). Mergent/Moody's is a publisher of detailed business descriptions, corporate histories and financial statements since 1900. The database also includes the Country Report module, a module that consists of the following resources: DnB Country Risk Profile, DnB Country RiskLine Report, and Mergent Country Profile. In addition, the Investext Database is available via Mergent Online.
Mergent Market Atlas (replacing Mergent Online) This link opens in a new window
Market Atlas will be replacing MergentOnline, which is slated to sunset on June 30, 2025. It contains most of the same information as MergentOnline in a new interface. It does not include access to Investext
Market Atlas is a corporate information database covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider tradingMarket Atlas provides tools for both interactive online research and easy predefined report access. These tools and reports are reflected across multiple product modules including Company, Sustainability, Industry, Country and Economic analysis.

Investext (via MergentOnline)
Analyst reports from brokerage houses, investment banks, and consulting firms. Reports can be accessed through the Investext module or through a company's profile. See instructions and "contributor" recommendations given in class. To access:
- Go to MergentOnline
- Click on the Investext tab in the main menu
- Search for the company you're researching
Access to the reports currently found in Investext will move to another platform when MergentOnline sunsets. Keep an eye on the PSUL website for more information

Penn State University Libraries

AGBM 308W: Strategic Decision Making in Agribusiness Management

Additional Resources

Librarian

Company Information