find articles written about Martin Luther King, Jr. during his lifetime as well as more current articles on Dr. King's life and legacy.
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography.
find articles about the influence and legacy of the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. on race relations in the United States.
Published quarterly, SAGE Race Relations Abstracts offers summaries of the best and most recent journal articles, books and conference papers from around the world. It assesses more than 300 publications providing you with the latest information and research findings in the area of race relations. Issues covered include discrimination, education, employment, health, politics, law and legislation. SAGE Race Relations Abstracts provides unique resources for scholars, activists and students.
includes historical collections of journals key to research in African American Studies.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
find research about the life and legacy of Martin Luther King, Jr. published in scholarly journals.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
ind scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies.
Black Studies Periodicals Database (Formerly International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text) draws its current content from more than 150 international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals. It covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology among others.
Ethnic NewsWatch™ covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Continuously growing since 1991, with archival material back to 1985, Ethnic NewsWatch is now a collection of more than 470,000 full-text articles from over 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 100,000 articles in Spanish, ENW offers in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and retrospective topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. An average of 7,500 new articles is added each month.
find articles about Dr. King published in the Chicago Defender.
Robert Sengstacke Abbott founded the Defender in May 1905 and by the outbreak of the First World War it had become the most widely-read black newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago. When Abbott died in 1940, his nephew John Sengstacke became editor and publisher of the Defender, which began publishing on a daily basis in 1956.
find articles about Dr. King published in the New York Times.
Includes a digitized image of every backfile issue of The New York Times from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.
cross-search a collection of African American newspapers published in the United States.
Beginning with the Freedom's Journal (NY)--the first African American newspaper published in the United States--this database includes page reproductions of African American newspapers from every region of the United States.
find information about Dr. Martin Luther King from a wide range of African American periodicals.
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, organizational newsletters, and other genres. Includes many Rare and short-lived titles.
find formerly classified government materials from the FBI, CIA, and National Security Council about the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., that have since been declassified.
The Declassified Documents Reference System provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.