Librarian
Jacob Gordon
He / His / Him
Contact:
jeg6049@psu.edu
Eiche Library
Penn State Altoona
Eiche Library
Penn State Altoona
814-949-5519
Subjects: Campus: Altoona
Manuel Ostos
Getting Started - Guides and Reference Sources
- Latin American Studies - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowA valuable guide to the literature in the field. Each essay includes recommended sources selected by experts.
- Oxford research encyclopedias. Latin American historyIn-depth essays describing Latin America's peoples and experiences from pre-Columbian to contemporary times. Essays include extensive references to key works on the topic.
- Cambridge History of Latin AmericaAn 11 volume set, covering Latin America history from the colonial period up to the 20th century. The final volume (v.11) contains recommended sources organized by chapters found in the other volumes in the set.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowFull-text sources on cultures around the world. Includes a cultural summary and bibliography for each culture covered.
- Handbook of South American IndiansExtensive essays about the Indigenous peoples of South America
Handbook of Middle American Indians by Publication Date: 1965Extensive, though dated 16 volume set.
v. 12-15. Guide to ethnohistorical sources,
- The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican culturesEssays on Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central.
Essays covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region.
Afro-Latin American Studies by ISBN: 9781316822883Publication Date: 2018-04-24A survey of humanities and social science scholarship on the field of Afro-Latin American studies. Organized by topic, these essays synthesize and present the current state of knowledge on a broad variety of topics, including Afro-Latin American music, religions, literature, art history, political thought, social movements, legal history, environmental history, and ideologies of racial inclusion.
Companion to Latin American Anthropology by ISBN: 9781444301328Publication Date: 2009-02-25Overviews of national anthropologies
Handbook of South American Archaeology by ISBN: 9780387749075Publication Date: 2008In-depth essays on indigenous peoples of South America.
The Oxford Handbook of the Incas by ISBN: 9780190219352Publication Date: 2018Multidisciplinary essays from archaeology, ethnohistory and art history
Routledge Handbook of Afro-Latin American Studies by ISBN: 9781000685466Publication Date: 2022-11-08This Handbook provides a roadmap to the burgeoning area of Afro-Latin American Studies. Features original, authoritative articles organized in four parts: * Disciplinary Studies; * Problem Focused Fields; * Regional and Country Approaches; * Pioneers of Afro-Latin American Studies.
