ASK for Help!
Get help from Librarians across the University!
- Ask A LibrarianWe have live chat, email, and phone options!
Librarian
Databases - Best Bets
LionSearch (the FIND box on the library's homepage), can give you a lot of sources quick, but it can be often like drinking from a firehouse.
Check out these subject specific databases, as a way to efficiently narrow your sources to those most-related to your topic and discipline.
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a great interdisciplinary database. It has a variety of different source types (scholarly articles, popular magazines, and newspapers). Plus, most of the articles are available in full text, or are easily found through our other subscriptions.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowThe content in this database focuses on the relationship of humans and the environment. Included are scholarly articles, popular magazines, and government documents.
- Environmental Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowThis subject specific database covers the many topics related to environment sciences like pollution, conservation, engineering, and resource management.
Additional Databases
Topics in Environment Studies can have a lot of different angles. Here are some additional related databases that, while not specific to Environment Studies, should be of use.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowThis is one of the top subject specific databases related to business and economics. It includes scholarly articles, popular magazines, and trade specific resources.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowContent in this database provides background information and relevant resources related to many of the top social issues and current events. Not every topic will be in this database, the content of those that are is fairly comprehensive.
- ProQuest (Multiple Databases) This link opens in a new windowThis is another interdisciplinary database that provides a broad range of resources (scholarly articles, popular magazines, and newspapers) on a wide range of subject areas and topics. This database also has a large amount of full text material.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier full text journal articles and electronic books) This link opens in a new windowResources in this database are all from the publisher Elsevier and largely focus on the sciences and social sciences. A majority of the content in this scholarly, and could be journal articles or ebooks.
- Science.Gov This link opens in a new windowThis resource is a platform that lets you search for government documents and reports from agencies and departments related to the sciences (like the Department of Energy, NASA or the Environmental Protection Agency.
Finding the Full Text of Articles
Sometimes, the full text of an article won't be available in the database where you find it. Here are some strategies for locating the Full text.
1. Use the Get It! Penn State Button 
This button is a short cut that allows you to quickly search through our other databases to find the full text.
2. Search Yourself Using Lion Search
Lion Search is the catch-all search that allows you to search all our resources at once. Search for the article's title to see if we have the full text in our collection - make sure you put it in quotes!
3. Request an Interlibrary Loan
If the "Get It!" button and Lion Search don't come up with the full text - you will see an option to request the full text via Interlibrary Loan. Once you fill out the request, it may take a few days for us to get the full text from another library - you will be notified by your PSU email how to access the full text once it arrives.