Library Guides: Open Educational Resources and Penn State Abington Library: Finding OER

PSU Created OER

Discover OER
Introduction to OERs and low-cost materials at Penn State.
Penn State Pressbooks Catalog
Browse Penn State’s catalog of faculty-created open textbooks and courses. If you’re interested in authoring your own textbook or course materials, schedule a consultation with the OER Team. You can request access to Pressbooks by completing the Pressbooks registration form.
ROAM: Repository of Open and Affordable Materials
Penn State’s ROAM offers high-quality learning materials created by Penn State faculty. These materials are freely available for you to reuse, revise, remix, retain, and redistribute under a Creative Commons license.
Search E-Books at Penn State
LibGuide with information regarding a variety of academic publishers are available in electronic version through the library and on the web.

OER Commons
One of the most comprehensive sites for finding OER for all types and disciplines, maintained and hosted by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education.
OASIS
A large user friendly OER search engine, developed by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library, that allows for users to search by subject or by course material type (e.g. textbooks, simulations, audio).
MERLOT
Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, with a collection of over 40,000 OER in 19 different material type categories. Maintained and hosted by the California State University System. Also offers an ISBN search, so you can search by a textbook you're currently using to get suggestions for replacements.
Mason OER Metafinder
This search engine from George Mason University is connected to 15 major OER repositories.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

OpenStax College
Rice Connexions is providing peer reviewed, quality open textbooks with interactive components. There are some amazing textbooks available here, with more in production.
Open Textbook Library
This collection by the University of Minnesota includes 782 (and counting) textbooks which have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
BCcampus Open Ed Collection
Open collection of textbooks and materials created and curated by the British Columbia, Ministry of Advanced Education.
Open Research Library
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
Milne Open Textbooks
Milne Open Textbooks (formerly OpenSUNY textbooks) publishes textbooks authored by SUNY faculty in a variety of areas.
LibreTexts
14 libraries or collections of Textbooks, Textmaps, and LibreTexts by UC Davis.
InTechOpen books
The world's largest multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.

OpenCulture
You will find 1,700 free online courses from top universities, including collections of Online Certificate Programs and Online Degree & Mini-Degree Programs.
MIT OpenCourseWare
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
Saylor
Saylor offers full courses online. It can be really helpful to use the reading lists from Saylor to find and organize your courses.
Lumen Learning
Offers complete courses composed of mostly open materials in a variety of high-demand subjects and disciplines that can be copied and adapted for free.
Academic Earth
Find lectures and videos from some of the most respected instructors in the world.

TED
Inspiring thinkers on a range of subjects present big ideas and lectures on a regular basis- completely CC licensed.
Khan Academy
Thousands of educational resources, including a personalized learning dashboard, over 100,000 practice problems, and over 6,000 micro lectures.
myOpenMath
MyOpenMath is designed for mathematics, providing delivery of homework, quizzes, and tests with rich mathematical content.
Bozeman Science
Series of videos on basic concepts in biology, chemistry, earth science, physics, and statistics.
PhET Science Simulations
These interactive tools from the University of Colorado at Boulder are mostly CC licensed.

Creative Commons Search
Creative Commons has created this really useful search engine, with image search function, that lets you search for resources that are CC licensed.
Public Domain Vectors
Public Domain Vectors has massive collection of openly-licensed vector graphics that are available to download in SVG, AI, and EPS formats.
Flickr Commons
The Flickr Commons is for photos from institutions that want to share their digital collections in the public domain.
Pexels
Pexels is a website with more than 3 million free, open (Pexels licensed), high resolution photos and videos.
Unsplash
Overe 1 million photos that can be freely downloaded and used for either commercial and non-commercial purposes, no permission needed.
Smithsonian Open Access
You can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from the Smithsonian collections.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Data about the Met collection, including over 492,000 of high-resolution images of public-domain artworks, available for free and unrestricted use.