Skip to Main Content

ENGL 083: First-Year Seminar in English (Abington)

Welcome!

Welcome to Penn State Abington Library's subject guide for ENGL 83. We've designed this guide to introduce you to Penn State University libraries.

Click on the buttons on the left to learn about the library's resources and services.

If you need more help using the library, contact the ENGL 83 Librarian, Katie Odhner at kzo5154@psu.edu. 

"Welcome" in many languages.

Find the database of your dreams!

A database is a searchable collection of resources that the library subscribes. Penn State University Libraries has more than 800 databases! In this activity, you will be going "speed databasing" with four different databases.

Be sure to read each database's dating profile card before diving in to your searching. Use the following questions to guide your notes:

  • Will I use this database in the future?
  • What is unique about this database?
  • With which database did I have the most chemistry?

Name: CQ Researcher Age: 28 (1996 - present) Physical description: a collection of reports covering political and social issues. Interests: Learning every perspective on controversial issues and hot topics. You’d be surprised to know: My reports on hot topics are amazingly helpful to students trying to develop research topics on current issues! In search of: Anyone who loves a great debate...I like to keep things spicy!

Name: PsycINFO Age: 57 (1967 - present) Physical description: I provide access to scholarly sources in psychology and related areas. Interests: Understanding what makes a person tick! I’m all about studying the human mind. You’d be surprised to know: I’m very flexible (in my search features)- you can filter my results by research methodology and population groups. In search of: A social science major I can share my research with!

Name: The Catalog Age: I’ve stopped counting! Physical description: The database where you can find books, ebooks, and other items in the library. Interests: Learning about any subject you can imagine. You’d be surprised to know: I can get you books from all over Pennsylvania, just by using the “I Want It” button. In search of: A student excited about in-depth research.

Name: Swank Motion Pictures Age: 93 (1931 - present) Physical description: collection of streaming movies Interests: Watching the latest and greatest in major motion pictures, of course! You’d be surprised to know: I have movies that aren’t available on other streaming platforms! In search of: A fellow movie-lover!