This site provides statistics on tornadoes and other severe storms including, monthly totals and averages, and killer tornado statistics for the US Its historical online archive contains data on tornadoes, hail and convective winds. Statistics are given by state from the 1940's to 1995 for injuries, fatalities and costs, overall rankings and more. Most files in the archive must be downloaded and unzipped. (For data after 1995 see the NCDC Web site, described later.)

TORRO, a private British research organization, has compiled lists of all-time weather extremes for Britain for smog, precipitation, wind, floods and more as well as annual synopses of severe weather events in Europe and the UK.

Detailed reports of US weather events.

Documents the economic cost of extreme weather events in the United States from 1900-1999.

NOAA table of data for 1980–2018.

For U.S. and Canada locations, temperature and precipitation highs and lows

This site provides current and historic tropical cyclone, hurricane, and high seas data along with high wind/wave alerts and ocean weather for mariners and aviators.

This site provides lists of the costliest, deadliest, longest and the most intense events as well as other records and data about tropical storms.

This site contains links to current US drought forecasts and advisories. Other data includes moisture and vegetation indices, water supply conditions and global drought headlines. The "Drought Climatology" section has over 100 years of US drought data mapped and graphed.

The "Flood Archive" has a worldwide index map, report summaries and a table that displays the start and end date, number of deaths, damage estimates and amount of land impacted for flood events from 1994 to present. The site also provides numerous satellite images of flood events.

This site features maps and data covering U.S. and North American drought information.

This U.S. site features maps and tables of current and historic (~ 2004+) flood and drought conditions, nationally and at the state level.

The European Floods Portal reports on current and recent floods in Europe.

2003.

This commercial site links to descriptions of current (and some historic) tornado events in the US 'Top ten' lists of tornadoes by number of deaths, size, etc. are provided. It also contains an explanation of the Fujita tornado intensity scale.

This site is usually one of the first to post eyewitness accounts of severe weather events occurring in the US It is also a good source for images of tornadoes and severe storms.

Information gathered by the Insurance Info. Institute, gives top states with hail damage, etc.

This site uses data from the the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) National Risk Index to report on hail incidents.

NLSI is a nonprofit research organization whose site contains lightning safety information, statistics on losses and damage caused by lightning, and quick lightning facts.

This NASA-sponsored page contains statistics on incidents of people being struck by lightning. It also describes typical injuries caused by lightning plus links to many other lightning incident stories.

The National Interagency Fire Center provides this listing of significant U.S. fire events, organized by date, location, and damage, including lists and maps of current fires.

This site provides current information on U.S. wildfires including cause, location, and acres affected. Data on this site can be searched up to a year post-incident.

This page at the National Climatic Data Center provides information on some historic climate extremes for the U.S. State-level extremes of precipitation and temperature are also available.

This site describes heat indexes and provides statistics on past and current heat emergencies.

From the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention which contain data on heat related deaths.

Wikipedia page for major accidents caused by fog, by sector (aviation, maritime, rail and road)

Over 12,000 people were killed in this incident. This article reveals the cause.