Library Guides: Writing: Adding Details: Arts and Sciences

Adding Details: General Sources

Below are only a few Penn State databases, books, and free web sites that provide useful information for writers. If you need further help, consult Penn State University Libraries' experts database or staff directory for contact information.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Similar to Credo, provides reputable basic information in all subject areas.
A collection of over 2000 reference resources.

Handy ... Answer Book (series)
ISBN: 9781578596393
This series of books provides a trove of facts and background information. There are recent volumes for just about any subject of interest, from anatomy to law, to psychology!

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Dictionary-type information, especially on history and geography.
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Google Book Search
Searches the full-text of millions of books.

Arts, Architecture, and Music Details

Artstor This link opens in a new window
More than 2 million high-quality art images from the world's greatest museums. Use the "Advanced Search" to explore by date, geography, and other criteria.
The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.

Billboard Charts Archive
Find out which tunes were most popular for a given year, back to the 1950s.

DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window
A resource for images and descriptions of recently-designed buildings. Use "more options" to search by building type, location, and year of construction.
This is an excellent source for descriptive informationand graphics for recently designed buildings – especially when structural details are needed. The database contains the majority of the feature articles from DETAIL magazine as well as DETAIL: Green, DETAIL: Inside, and DETAIL: Structure. Although the contents are usually contributed by a building’s designers (much like most of the recent web magazines) DETAIL imposes standards which include uniform and informative graphics – browsing these shows much about a building’s components and how they are put together. Articles back to 1987 are included. DETAIL: Inspiration is not covered in LionSearch nor via the GetIt button. Searching this database, or the paper copies, is the only route.
Grove Music Online (New Grove Dictionary of Music) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative background information on music, musicians, and instruments throughout the world and across history.
Grove Music Online offers a dynamic research tool combining the full text of the 29-volume print edition with the added benefit of sophisticated search capabilities, one-click cross-referencing, and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world.

Medicine, Nature, and Science Details

All About Birds
Provides high-quality images, habits, range, calls, and other information about American birds.
HowStuffWorks
A popular site for explaining science, technology, and related topics.
MedlinePlus
An reliable, freely-available source of medical information. Written for consumers.
USDA PLANTS database
A useful resource for nature writers writing about the U.S. On the left side of the page, the "state search" enables you to find information about the plants that are native to a particular area.
Weather Underground: Historical Weather
Find out the weather on any date back to the 1940s.