Home - Articles and Databases - Turfgrass - Library Guides at Penn State University

Top Picks

Turfgrass Information Service This link opens in a new window
Database of published materials reporting on aspects of turfgrass and its maintenance.
The Turfgrass Information Center (TIC) provides access to a database of published materials reporting on aspects of turfgrass and its maintenance. This includes conference proceedings, trade publications, scientific journals, extension bulletins, and newsletters.TIC is a specialized unit at the Michigan State University Libraries and has over 100,000 records in its primary database, the Turfgrass Information File (TGIF).
CAB Abstracts (agriculture, nutrition and global health) This link opens in a new window
An agricultural database that includes turfgrass.
CAB Abstracts via CAB Direct covers all areas of agriculture including animal production and welfare (equine, dairy, cattle, poultry), horticulture, (fruits, nuts, vegetables ornamentals, flowers) crop science (grains, forages) and plant protection, applied economics and rural studies, animal nutrition, entomology, aquaculture and veterinary science, food science and nutrition, forestry and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism, microbiology, parasitology, mycology, nematology, bacteriology and virology, biotechnology, and plant pathology and postharvest factors. CAB Direct also includes a Global Health section which covers international and public health, including bacterial, viral and prion diseases, mycology, parasitology, disease vectors, zoonotic diseases, nutrition and food safety, medicinal plants, toxicology and public and rural health.
Plant Management Network This link opens in a new window
Site for plant health management professionals to exchange knowledge and discover the latest applied research. Note: GROW is the new name for Plant Management Network.
The Plant Management Network is a unique cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Designed to provide plant science practitioners fast electronic access to proven solutions, the Plant Management Network offers an extensive searchable database comprised of thousands of web-based resource pages from the network's partner universities, companies, and associations.
Invasive Species Compendium This link opens in a new window
Detailed coverage of invasive species threatening livelihoods and the environment worldwide
Encyclopedic resource containing information on over 1500 invasive species and animal diseases. Updated weekly

Also Important

AGRICOLA (via OVID) This link opens in a new window
Core agricultural resource that includes plant science.
AGRICOLA contains references for books, journal articles, book chapters, audiovisuals, and other agricultural resources. These resources encompass all aspects of agriculture such as animal and veterinary sciences including poultry and dairy, entomology, plant sciences such as horticulture, crop and soil science, and plant pathology, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, rural and community development, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, food science, agricultural engineering, and earth and environmental sciences. Also indexes publications from USDA, State Experiment Stations, and State Extension Services.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for new articles which cite an older article by using the "cited ref" search mode.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.

Global Plants
Database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration. Search for Grasses in the search box

Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Doctoral and Master's dissertations
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world, with more than 2.5 million available in full text PDF.

eJournals Search

Article Search Tips

Finding the best articles on your topic requires these steps.

Select an appropriate database.
Enter and combine terms appropriate to your topic
Scan the best items on the results list and look for new subject terms or keywords. Then revise your search using these new terms.
Save the journal title, volume, date, and page numbers. This is all part of the "citation".
Explore other databases and subject terms (which vary between databases) for more information.

Get the Full Text

Once you find the citation, try the button to see if Penn State has the electronic version of the article you need. If the electronic version is available, you should get right to it. If the article is not available electronically, use the Request via InterLibrary Loan (ILL) button to request it from another library. ILL will get a copy of the article for you, typically at no cost; articles usually arrive within a week, often in as few as 2-3 days. Watch your PSU email for notification and further instructions. You can also click on the Search the library catalog for this item (by title) link to automatically search our catalog and see if Penn State has a print copy.

Penn State University Libraries

Turfgrass

Agricultural and Veterinary Librarian

Top Picks

Also Important

eJournals Search

Article Search Tips

Get the Full Text