Librarian
Head Librarian
Penn State Shenango Lartz Memorial Library
Start Here
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch here for a mix of scholarly articles and books from all disciplines.
If you have a Google account, log in and then connect Scholar to your Penn State account for full access to many journals under Settings > Library Links. You will need to search for "Pennsylvania State University," check it, then save.
-
Penn State University Libraries Home PageAn integrated search of library books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications available to you through Penn State.
-
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
PubMed's core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/about/. Or try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
APA Citations
When you do research for an assignment, you must cite the sources you used. Citation is a way of giving credit to the source that created the idea you are using. It allows others to follow the intellectual path you took to reach your conclusions. If you do not cite your sources, you are plagiarizing. When in doubt, cite your resources! Here are some citation sites to help you:
- Citation and Writing Guides
Information for APA, MLA, and other citation styles as well as general writing help.
Best for quick examples of citing: ChatGPT and other generative AI tools, journal articles, websites, and more. -
A quick and generally very accurate citation generator. Be sure to change the format to APA and check for capitalization errors.
-
Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University for APA, 7th ed.
Article Search Tips
Finding the best articles on your topic requires these steps:
- Select a topic and create some search terms (ChatGPT can give you suggestions for search ideas on your topic).
- Enter and combine terms appropriate to your topic in GoogleScholar, LionsSearch, or a database.
- Scan the best items on the results list and look for new subject terms or keywords. Then revise your search using these new terms.
- Save the author(s), date, title of article, journal title, volume, and page numbers. This is all part of the "citation".
- Explore other databases and subject terms (which vary between databases) for more information.
Get the Full Text
Once you find the citation, try the 
button to see if Penn State has the electronic version of the article you need. If the electronic version is available, you should get right to it. If the article is not available electronically, use the Request via InterLibrary Loan (ILL) button to request it from another library. ILL will get a copy of the article for you, typically at no cost; articles usually arrive within a week, often in as few as 2-3 days. Watch your PSU email for notification and further instructions. You can also click on the Search the library catalog for this item (by title) link to automatically search our catalog and see if Penn State has a print copy.
Healthcare Technology Trend Project Presentation
-
"Healthcare Technology Trends"PowerPoint presentation shared in class